Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food (Paperback)
  • Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food (Paperback)
zoom

Coming Home to Eat: The Pleasures and Politics of Local Food (Paperback)

(author)
£11.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 06/07/2009
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of M. F. K. Fisher and Henry David Thoreau, Gary Paul Nabhan relates how his experience with food permeates his life as an avid gardener and forager, as an ethnobotanist and farmland conservation advocate, and as an activist devoted to recovering place-based heritage foods. Nabhan spent a year trying to eat only foods grown, fished, or gathered within 220 miles of his home-with surprising results.Already considered a landmark in the locavore movement, Coming Home to Eat "makes us understand how finding and eating local foods connects us deeply and sensually with where we are [and] why the everyday choices we make about food are the most important choices we make" (Alice Waters, chef/owner of Chez Panisse).

Publisher: WW Norton & Co
ISBN: 9780393335057
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 211 x 140 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"A tale certain to inspire gardeners, cooks, and others eager to replace convenience with flavor." -- Country Living Gardener
"Eloquent, richly evocative . . . a fascinating, enlightening, and moving account." -- Los Angeles Times

You may also be interested in...

The Happy Pear
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Vegan Bible
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
The Little Tapas Book
Added to basket
£9.99
Hardback
Good Food: Meals for One
Added to basket
The Kitchen Diaries
Added to basket
My Kitchen Table: 100 Quick Stir-fry Recipes
Added to basket
Hedgerow
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Mary Berry Cookery Course
Added to basket
New York Cult Recipes
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Nosh Gluten-Free
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hungover Cookbook
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Hardback
Leiths How to Cook
Added to basket
The Ultimate Bar Book
Added to basket
Delia's Complete Cookery Course
Added to basket
Kitchen Confidential
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.