Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Comanche Sundown: A Novel (Hardback)
  • Comanche Sundown: A Novel (Hardback)
zoom

Comanche Sundown: A Novel (Hardback)

(author)
£32.95
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 30/05/2010
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Comanche Sundown is the story of the great war chief Quanah Parker, a freed slave and cowboy named Bose Ikard, and the women they love. In 1869 Quanah and Bose do their best to kill each other in a brutal fight on horseback in West Texas. But over several years, through the flash and chaos of war and killing they discover that they are friends, not enemies. They change from violent unformed youths into men of courage and decency. The son of the ferocious warrior Nocona and the tragic captive Texan Cynthia Ann Parker, Quanah suffers the wound of being slurred and rejected by many Comanches as someone of impure blood and certain bad luck. When told he cannot marry his youthful love Weckeah, he rides off and joins another band of his people in the canyonlands and plains of the Texas Panhandle. Later, when Quanah has just emerged as a war chief in a daring rout of army cavalry, in defiance of elders and tradition he elopes with Weckeah and leads a following of the wildest Comanche bunch of all. The enslaved son of a white physician, Bose is freed by the Civil War and rides on trail drives of longhorns into New Mexico Territory that are led by the pioneering Charles Goodnight. Bose winds up captured, utilized, and eventually valued by Quanah and his people. That period in young Bose's life brings him into intoxicating friendship with Quanah's other wife, To-ha-yea, a Mescalero Apache and born heart-breaker. Comanche Sundown lays out a sprawling and plausible recast of Southwestern history that brings Pat Garrett, Billy the Kid, Bat Masterson, Colonel Ranald "Bad Hand" Mackenzie, and General William T. Sherman into one fray. In the tradition of Thomas Berger's Little Big Man, William Styron's The Confessions of Nat Turner, Larry McMurtry's Lonesome Dove, and Cormac McCarthy's All the Pretty Horses, Jan Reid's novel offers a rich blend of historical detail, exquisite eye for the terrain and the animals, and insight into the culture, customs, poetry, and dignity of Native Americans caught up in a desperate fight to survive.

Publisher: Texas Christian University Press,U.S.
ISBN: 9780875654225
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 626 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Jeff Guinn, special contributor to The Dallas Morning News said, "Only the best writers (Elliott Arnold in Blood Brothers, Larry McMurttry in Lonesome Dove series) can convincingly [make readers believe things might have happened in ways that exist only in a writer's imagination], and with Comanche Sundown Austin's Jan Reid demonstrates he belongs among the elite."

--Jeff Guinn "Dallas Morning News "

"Jan Reid has been pondering masculinity, violence and Texas most of his life...Reid leaves himself so exposed and has such a clear, inviting style that when the fists emerge, you almost feel sorry that Reid has to introduce them."

--Clay Smith "Texas Observer "

"[Jan] Reid allows the reader to see the humanity and dignity of characters that have often been depicted as one-dimensional, and he delivers quite a satisfying level of detail in his descriptions of the landscape, plants and animals, and Native American lifeways."

--Gene Fowler "North Texas Star "

You may also be interested in...

The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive Kitteridge
Added to basket
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Find Me
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Olive, Again
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
No Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.