Collected Plays for Children (Paperback)
  • Collected Plays for Children (Paperback)

Collected Plays for Children (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
Paperback 144 Pages / Published: 05/11/2001
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
This volume contains six plays by Ted Hughes which are particularly suitable for performance by children. Four of them were published originally under the title, The Coming of the Kings and Other Plays. Added to these are Orpheus and The Pig Organ, the former only ever published in America, the latter (which was written as a libretto) never before published. Hughes enters the timeless world of folklore and fable and brings home a wonderful haul, managing to produce comedy, tragedy and magic from the same net, and then to move effortlessly between them. He makes stories from familiar elements (the Nativity, or Beauty and the Beast or a quest to save a sickening king), but approaches them from unexpected angles and sets them off in different directions. What characterizes the pieces is the energy Hughes generates not only in the unfolding action but in the drama of the language itself, which is as robustly up-to-date as it is lyrical.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571209576
Number of pages: 144
Weight: 160 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 12 mm
Edition: Main

You may also be interested in...

Romeo and Juliet (new edition)
Added to basket
Pop-up Shakespeare
Added to basket
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Added to basket
Oxford Playscripts: Frankenstein
Added to basket
Our Country's Good
Added to basket
Mr William Shakespeare's Plays
Added to basket
Bombs and Blackberries
Added to basket
Tally's Blood
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.