Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Coleridge and the Daemonic Imagination - Nineteenth-Century Major Lives and Letters (Hardback)
  • Coleridge and the Daemonic Imagination - Nineteenth-Century Major Lives and Letters (Hardback)
zoom

Coleridge and the Daemonic Imagination - Nineteenth-Century Major Lives and Letters (Hardback)

(author)
£79.99
Hardback 274 Pages / Published: 29/03/2011
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Through politics, religion and his relationship with Wordsworth, the book builds to a new interpretation of the poems where Coleridge's daemonic imagination produces its myths: The Ancient Mariner, Kubla Khan and Christabel . Re-reading the origins of Romanticism, Leadbetter reveals a Coleridge at once more familiar and more strange.



Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan
ISBN: 9780230103214
Number of pages: 274
Weight: 495 g
Dimensions: 216 x 140 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

***Winner of the CCUE Book Prize 2012!***

'Leadbetter's method is to probe ideas and explore their resonance: a kind of ultrasound imaging that traces currents of emotion, thought, and morality moving within the whole span of Coleridge's writing. His new book draws on resources that have recently entered the public domain with sympathy and intelligence, and sets out clearly what so many of us have either not been able to see or not quite able to say before. He brings fresh insight to age-old questions and familiar poems, resulting in a clarified sense of the contradictions that moved a great creative mind. This is an exciting book and necessary not only for readers of Coleridge and Wordsworth but also for anyone interested in how poetry is made.' J. C. C. Mays, University College, Dublin

'This is a subtle and erudite meditation on Coleridge's poetry, making frequently brilliant connections with his notebooks, essays, and letters. The theme of the 'transnatural' running throughout Coleridge's work (what we might also call the pagan, the transgressive, or the subversive erotic) is explored with zest and confidence, most particularly so in the ballads. Altogether this is an excellent academic study, fully alive to previous Coleridge criticism, but not afraid to strike out on its own, and even to adventure into mysterious and forbidden territory, the 'far countree' of Coleridge's imagination.' Richard Holmes, biographer of Coleridge and author of The Age of Wonder

"Leadbetter's book offers us a new way into Coleridge, presenting a writer and thinker who repeatedly found his truest genius in the experiences that made him most uneasy. It is a compelling and encompassing account of a powerfully heterodoxical mind. Leadbetter has penetrating things to say across the whole range of the great career.' Seamus Perry, Balliol College, Oxford

You may also be interested in...

Dante's Divine Comedy
Added to basket
The Sonnets
Added to basket
Collected Poems
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Poetry Please: The Seasons
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Rumi Poems
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Emily Dickinson
Added to basket
£3.99
Paperback
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Six Poets: Hardy to Larkin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Why Dylan Matters
Added to basket
The Poem
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Poems for a world gone to sh*t
Added to basket
The Terrible
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Byron's Wake
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Songs of Innocence and of Experience
Added to basket
Robert Graves
Added to basket
Birthday Letters
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.