Ts&Cs apply
Cold as Hell - An Arora Investigation 1 (Paperback)
  • Cold as Hell - An Arora Investigation 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Cold as Hell - An Arora Investigation 1 (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 276 Pages
Published: 28/10/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Arora returns to Iceland when her estranged sister goes missing, and her search leads to places she could never have imagined. A chilling, tense thriller - FIRST in an addictive, nerve-shattering new series - from one of Iceland's bestselling authors...

'Icelandic crime writing at its finest ... immersive and unnerving' Shari Lapena

'Best-selling Icelandic crime-writer Sigurdardottir has built a formidable reputation with just four novels, but here she introduces a new protagonist who is set to cement her legacy' Daily Mail

'Another bleak, unpredictable classic' Metro

**Winner: Best Icelandic Crime Novel of the Year**


--------------

Icelandic sisters Arora and Isafold live in different countries and aren't on speaking terms, but when their mother loses contact with Isafold, Arora reluctantly returns to Iceland to find her sister. But she soon realises that her sister isn't avoiding her ... she has disappeared, without trace.

As she confronts Isafold's abusive, drug-dealing boyfriend Bjoern, and begins to probe her sister's reclusive neighbours - who have their own reasons for staying out of sight - Arora is led into an ever-darker web of intrigue and manipulation.

Baffled by the conflicting details of her sister's life, and blinded by the shiveringly bright midnight sun of the Icelandic summer, Arora enlists the help of police officer Daniel, as she tries to track her sister's movements, and begins to tail Bjoern - but she isn't the only one watching...

Slick, tense, atmospheric and superbly plotted, Cold as Hell marks the start of a riveting, addictive new series from one of Iceland's bestselling crime writers.

-----------------

'Lilja Sigurdardottir doesn't write cookie-cutter crime novels. She is aware that "the fundamentals of existence are totally incomprehensible and chaotic": anything can and does happen ... Isn't that what all crime writers should aim for?' The Times

'The blinding midnight sun in Iceland's summer is beautifully evoked as Arora establishes herself as a heroine to move the heart' Daily Mail

'Lilja is a standout voice in Icelandic Noir, and this book does not disappoint ... Cold as Hell is her best yet' James Oswald

'Domestic abuse, high-finance hanky-panky, and illegal immigration all figure in this arresting series launch ... sure to please Scandi noir fans' Publishers Weekly

'What sets Lilja's work apart is her ability to thread dark atmospheric tension throughout her writing and to keep the tale so taut ... a slick, refreshing, glacial blast of a thriller' LoveReading

'So atmospheric' Crime Monthly

'Intricate, enthralling and very moving - a wonderful crime novel' William Ryan

'Three things we love about Cold as Hell: Iceland's unrelenting midnight sun; the gritty Nordic murder mystery; the peculiar and bewitching characters' Apple Books

'Lilja Sigurdardottir just gets better and better ... Arora is a wonderful character: unique, passionate, unpredictable and very real' Michael Ridpath

Praise for Lilja Sigurdardottir


'Smart writing with a strongly beating heart' Big Issue

'Tough, uncompromising and unsettling' Val McDermid

'Tense and pacey' Guardian

'Deftly plotted' Financial Times

'An emotional suspense rollercoaster on a par with The Firm, as desperate, resourceful, profoundly lovable characters scheme against impossible odds' Alexandra Sokoloff

'Tense, edgy and delivering more than a few unexpected twists and turns' Sunday Times

'The intricate plot is breathtakingly original, with many twists and turns you never see coming. Thriller of the year' New York Journal of Books

'Taut, gritty and thoroughly absorbing' Booklist

'A stunning addition to the icy-cold crime genre' Foreword Reviews

For fans of Katrine Engberg, Eva Bjorg Aegisdottir, Arne Dahl and Sarah Vaughan

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781913193881
Number of pages: 276
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Passenger & Stella Maris: Box Set
Added to basket
£50.00   £25.00
Mixed media product
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Couple at the Table
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Game
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Notes on an Execution
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Leviathan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Notes on an Execution
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sparring Partners
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Gripping”

Cold as Hell is the start of a new series by the award-winning writer Lilja Sigurðardóttir the fabulous who always writes top notch crime. He crime writing tends to bring the cold Icelandic island to life and reminds... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Good Crime Read”

Thank you to the publishers for this advance review copy, I have previously read Betrayal by the same author so I had an idea of the writing style ahead of reading.
This is another good crime thriller, it is set... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Tense, Gritty and Complex”

Yet again Orenda books is publishing another great Icelandic novel. Since discovering Orenda I have read quite a few scandi crime and have to say I love them.Cold as Hell is brilliant. It has a great protagonist in... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.