Clayton Byrd Goes Underground (Hardback)
  • Clayton Byrd Goes Underground (Hardback)
zoom

Clayton Byrd Goes Underground (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
£10.99
Hardback 176 Pages
Published: 09/05/2017

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
5 Starred Reviews! "This slim novel strikes a strong chord"-Publishers Weekly (starred review) "This complex tale of family and forgiveness has heart." -School Library Journal (starred review) "Strong characterizations and vivid musical scenes add layers to this warm family story." -Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "An appealing, realistic story with frequent elegant turns of phrase." -The Horn Book (starred review) "Garcia-Williams skillfully finds melody in words." -Booklist (starred review) From beloved Newbery Honor winner and three-time Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia comes a powerful and heartfelt novel about loss, family, and love that will appeal to fans of Jason Reynolds and Kwame Alexander. Clayton feels most alive when he's with his grandfather, Cool Papa Byrd, and the band of Bluesmen-he can't wait to join them, just as soon as he has a blues song of his own. But then the unthinkable happens. Cool Papa Byrd dies, and Clayton's mother forbids Clayton from playing the blues. And Clayton knows that's no way to live. Armed with his grandfather's brown porkpie hat and his harmonica, he runs away from home in search of the Bluesmen, hoping he can join them on the road. But on the journey that takes him through the New York City subways and to Washington Square Park, Clayton learns some things that surprise him.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062215918
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 263 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Baddies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The 169-Storey Treehouse
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Astrochimp
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
The Super Sunny Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Dad's Bum is So Smelly! (PB)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Blunders
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The World’s Worst Teachers
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
Dog Man
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Alex vs Axel: The Impossible Quests
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: