City of Spies (Paperback)
  • City of Spies (Paperback)
zoom

City of Spies (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 17/09/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The stunning debut from the new name to watch in espionage thrillers. For fans of Charlotte Philby and The Bletchley Circle, this is perfect Sunday night drama. LISBON, 1943: When her cover is blown, SOE agent Elisabeth de Mornay flees Paris. Pursued by the Gestapo, she makes her way to neutral Lisbon, where Europe's elite rub shoulders with diplomats, businessmen, smugglers, and spies. There she receives new orders - and a new identity. Posing as wealthy French widow Solange Verin, Elisabeth must infiltrate a German espionage ring targeting Allied ships, before more British servicemen are killed. The closer Elisabeth comes to discovering the truth, the greater the risk grows. With a German officer watching her every step, it will take all of Elisabeth's resourcefulness and determination to complete her mission. But in a city where no one is who they claim to be, who can she trust? 'Perfectly captures the conflicted loyalties of wartime espionage in neutral Portugal . . . atmospheric . . . tense' Sarah Armstrong, author of The Wolves of Leninsky Prospekt 'Casablanca meets le Carre' A. K. Turner, author of Body Language

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838770709
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 337 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
De Mornay is a welcome recruit to the ranks of female spies * The Times *
Mara Timon perfectly captures the conflicted loyalties of wartime espionage in neutral Portugal. Lisbon provides an atmospheric setting for the twists in this tense spy novel where everyone has chosen a side * Sarah Armstrong, author of The Wolves of Leninsky Prospekt *
City of Spies is a highly accomplished debut featuring a fabulously feisty heroine, a cast of engaging, authentic characters, a racy plot - seasoned with plenty of sex - played out against the fascinating and glamorous backdrop of WW2 Lisbon. Casablanca meets le Carre for a refreshing spin on the sometimes creaky spy thriller genre * A K Turner *
Bond meets Blaise in WWII. Absolutely genius. Car chases. Intrigue. Love. Danger. And that thing that elevates a novel - Empathy * Derek Farrell, author of Death of a Diva *
I don't think I have enjoyed a historical fiction spy story as much as this for a very long time. It is written by a very talented writer who brilliantly takes you into the less travelled land of the life of a female SOE operative in World War II . . . We are treated to the very best in the espionage genre, full of as much detail about the nitty-gritty spy stuff to keep any fan of this kind of book happy . . . This is an espionage tale of a different class . . . an accomplished debut from an author who is most definitely one to watch * Brown Flopsy's Book Burrow *
Realistically exciting and a thriller which maintains a breathless pace, this is an adventure in wartime Europe which expands on the already fascinating stories of female Special Operations Executive heroines . . . This is a book that is virtually impossible to put down . . . A fast-moving and enjoyable story with a warmth of personality which is memorable, I thoroughly recommend this remarkable novel * Northern Reader *
Wow. How is this a debut novel? I have loved it. Completely gripped me from the very beginning and I have been completely addicted to reading it. I haven't been able to put it down. This has a completely unique plot from anything I've read previously. This is definitely an author to watch out for. Not only is this a fantastic read, but her writing style is engaging and will captivate you so that you become fully lost in the pages. This book is filled with likeable characters and at times, I have had James Bond feels whilst reading. I definitely could picture this book as a movie or series. This is a fantastic read, which is highly deserving of five stars * Little Miss Book Lover 87 *
I absolutely loved this book. This is easily one of the top three if not top two debuts I've read this year...really superb * Phil Williams, Times Radio *

You may also be interested in...

Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Royal Secret
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Great espionage debut...”

This wonderful debut espionage thriller is a perfect blend of fact and fiction, loosely based in some of the real events that happened in Lisbon on 1943. The city was appropriately named the City Of Spies where no one... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“A great, rip-roaring espionage thriller”

This was a great, rip-roaring espionage thriller! We meet Elisabeth (codename Cécile) in 1943, just as her cover as a member of the French resistance is blown. She runs and shortly finds herself in the supposedly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“brilliant”

City of Spies by Mara Timon is a very well written spy thriller set in wartimes and an excellent debut novel! Whilst it was a bit confusing at times, due to the amount of characters and the plot at times, for the most... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.