City of Lies (Hardback)
  • City of Lies (Hardback)
zoom

City of Lies (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 560 Pages / Published: 23/08/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Joint winner of the Aurealis Award for Best Novel - Australia's premier genre fiction prize - two Ditmar Awards and joint-winner of the Norma K. Hemming Award . . .
________

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me . . .

Only a handful of people in Silasta know Jovan's real purpose in life. To most, he is just another son of the ruling class. The quiet, forgettable friend of the Chancellor's charming, irresponsible heir. In reality, Jovan has been trained for most of his life to detect, concoct and withstand poisons in order to protect the ruling family.

His sister Kalina is too frail to share in their secret family duty. While other women of the city hold positions of power and responsibility, her path is full of secrets and lies - some hidden even from her own brother.

Until now, peace has reigned in Silasta for hundreds of years. But when the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army storms the gates, the so-called Bright City is completely unprepared. It falls to Jovan and Kalina to protect the heir and save their homeland - but first they must make their way through a new world of unexpected treachery, a world where the ancient spirits are rising . . . and angry.

This fabulous epic fantasy debut will appeal to readers of Joe Abercrombie and Terry Brooks, Robin Hobb and Mark Lawrence and all points in between.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9781787630123
Number of pages: 560
Weight: 816 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 47 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
If the first line doesn't make you buy this book, you should turn in your fantasy-lover's badge. City of Lies got me through sitting seven hours in an airport, and proves that a tale about the one who risks his life to thwart assassins can be as compelling as any assassin's tale. -- ROBIN HOBB
City of Lies grips from the first line . . . a compelling fantasy whodunnit - imagine Agatha Christie channelled through Robin Hobb - and a page-turning coming-of-age tale. -- Eric Brown * GUARDIAN *
A tale of poisoners, deceit and treachery that will surely keep readers entranced. I don't read many stories as twisty and unpredictable, especially in the latter chapters, as this one, and I loved what Sam Hawke did. -- TERRY BROOKS
Sibling protagonists anchor this sinuous story of old grievances coming to a boil. Hawke writes with nuance about the loves, loyalties, ambitions and resentments that bind her characters together and threaten to tear them apart. -- KATE ELLIOTT
Sam Hawke does a marvellous job . . . keeping the action tense and the mood fraught, with each plot twist and revelation driving you on to a shocking and satisfying conclusion. City of Lies combines a locked-room mystery with a spy thriller and action-packed fantasy to create an experience that leave you reading late into the night. * SFX magazine *
Absolutely loved this; the world building is brilliant, the mystery and crime elements merge seamlessly into a fantastical world of poisoners, warrior-guilds and ancient magic. But the heart of the story is the central characters, they're written with such depth: flawed, human and likeable. City of Lies is a wonderful read and one that I'd highly recommend to all lovers of fantasy. -- JOHN GWYNNE
An enormously enjoyable read, one of the best new fantasies I've seen in a long time. -- ADRIAN TCHAIKOVSKY
With lush worldbuilding and a tight, twisting plot, City of Lies plants Hawke as a bold new fantasy voice. -- LAURA LAM
Without doubt the best fantasy novel I read this year. With an opening line that resonates and it's sprawling epic world full of political shenanigans and betrayal it is the very definition of a literary page turner. * LIZLOVESBOOKS 'Top 10 of 2018' *
City of Lies is one of the standout debuts - and books - of the year, and stands alone while opening the door for sequels already in the works - and which I'll definitely be reading! * FANTASYHIVE *
Part murder mystery, part political thriller with a fantastical heart . . . I was utterly engrossed from beginning to end. * THE ELOQUENT PAGE *
A tightly wound and ever escalating plot is complemented by the cast's refreshing nuances . . . even when magic comes into play the story never loses its essentially human and relatable scale, making it stand out from more sprawling, cinematic fare. A well-crafted debut with believable political intrigues, solid world-building, and original characters. * KIRKUS REVIEWS *
An absolute revelation . . . the book really blew me away when I first read it, evoking subtle shades of Robin Hobb's Farseer books . . . if you haven't checked out Sam's writing, you really need to. She is a shining star in the genre. * OUT OF THIS WORLD SFF REVIEWS *
'Sam Hawke injects her story with charismatic prose, characters with flair and also has one of the best opening lines that I've ever read in speculative fiction.' * Mihir Wanchoo at FantasyBookCritic *

You may also be interested in...

The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
What Abigail Did That Summer
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
The Court of Miracles
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Final Empire
Added to basket
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Hours: Chain of Iron
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Alice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Realm Breaker
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Exceptional debut”

City of Lies won the Aurealis Award for best novel. And I am utterly unsurprised by this, because it is excellent in every way. An layered and intricate novel that gives little indication it is a debut, it is complex,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.