Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 19th December 2nd Class | 20th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
City of Circles (Paperback)
  • City of Circles (Paperback)
zoom

City of Circles (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 14/06/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist.

Danu is in mourning for her parents after a disease has ravaged the circus she calls home. She begins a high-wire act with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. But her mother has entrusted her with a mysterious locket that will lead her down a path Morrie cannot follow.

When the circus visits Danu's birthplace, the magical city of Matryoshka, she goes in search of a stranger who may hold the answer to her past. And when the circus leaves, Danu stays behind.

Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city of circles?


'Her exploration of self and grief will resonate with many' Ros Barber, author of The Marlowe Papers

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473656710
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 264 g
Dimensions: 198 x 149 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Utterly transporting. * The Pool *
What a rich sensory experience Jess creates for us. What a full and fascinating world. Her exploration of self and grief will resonate with many who have struggled to find the quiet sense of themselves in a busy, confusing world. * Ros Barber, author of Desmond Elliot Prize-winning The Marlowe Papers *
Fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern will love this latest book from the Costa-shortlisted author. Enthralling love story about two circus performers, City of Circles is mesmerizing and vividly imagined. * Storgy, Summer Reads *
Her writing reminds me of Anna Smaill's The Chimes. It is lyrical and sensual, at times dense with wordplay and mythologising. * Landfall Review *
Mind-blowing to read. * Sophie Elaina blog *
I quickly found myself immersed in the enchanting world of magic, runes, tarot cards and hexes, as well as the powerfully evoked atmosphere of the circus - I could almost smell the sawdust! I loved the poetic, mystical and ethereal nature of the author's prose and frequently found myself reflecting on the ideas and observations she introduced into the story... such an original, wonderfully fantastic story, containing so many layers of meaning which would offer fertile ground for lively discussion. Anyone who enjoys magical realism will be in for a treat with this thought-provoking story. * nudge *
The author's exploration of grief and of a young woman's search for herself was one of the most emotionally affecting pieces of writing I have ever read. She captured so vividly and sensitively how it is possible to feel numb and alone, even when surrounded by people who love and care for you... I loved the poetic, mystical and ethereal nature of the author's prose and frequently found myself reflecting on the ideas and observations she introduced into the story. * BookGeek *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Tolkien Calendar 2020
Added to basket
The Colour Of Magic
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
Dungeons & Dragons Starter Box
Added to basket
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Rivers of London
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Skyward
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Linda Hepworth

“A magical, enchanting read.”

When Danu Monk is fifteen she watches her parents die. They are victims of a virus which has resulted in five deaths, and affected many more, in the circus community which is her home. Even though she is taken in by... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.