City of Circles (Hardback)
  • City of Circles (Hardback)
zoom

City of Circles (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£17.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 10/08/2017
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

CITY OF CIRCLES is an entrancing love story between Danu and Morrie, two circus performers, and Danu's Lewis Carroll-esque odyssey through the magical city of Matryoshka, that ends with a heart-warming yet bittersweet twist.

Danu is a tightrope walker who is mourning her parents, after a disease has ravaged the circus where she grew up. Her mother has entrusted her with a locket that hides a secret.

Over the years, Danu pushes away her grief and develops elaborate and successful high-wire acts with Morrie, a charismatic hunchback who wants to marry her. When the circus returns to Danu's birthplace, Matryoshka, Danu is enchanted by the temples, spice mists, and pleasure seekers within the intoxicating outer circle district.

Here, she finally gains the courage to open her mother's locket, and discovers the name of a stranger who lives behind the locked gate of the Inner Circle. Fated to remain in Matryoshka, Danu attempts to resolve this mystery . . .

Will she and Morrie ever be reunited, or will something far more unexpected be waiting for her in the mysterious heart of the city?

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473656680
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 524 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Utterly transporting. * The Pool *
What a rich sensory experience Jess creates for us. What a full and fascinating world. Her exploration of self and grief will resonate with many who have struggled to find the quiet sense of themselves in a busy, confusing world. * Ros Barber, author of Desmond Elliot Prize-winning The Marlowe Papers *
Fans of Angela Carter and Erin Morgenstern will love this latest book from the Costa-shortlisted author. Enthralling love story about two circus performers, City of Circles is mesmerizing and vividly imagined. * Storgy, Summer Reads *
Her writing reminds me of Anna Smaill's The Chimes. It is lyrical and sensual, at times dense with wordplay and mythologising. * Landfall Review *
Mind-blowing to read. * Sophie Elaina blog *
I quickly found myself immersed in the enchanting world of magic, runes, tarot cards and hexes, as well as the powerfully evoked atmosphere of the circus - I could almost smell the sawdust! I loved the poetic, mystical and ethereal nature of the author's prose and frequently found myself reflecting on the ideas and observations she introduced into the story... such an original, wonderfully fantastic story, containing so many layers of meaning which would offer fertile ground for lively discussion. Anyone who enjoys magical realism will be in for a treat with this thought-provoking story. * nudge *
The author's exploration of grief and of a young woman's search for herself was one of the most emotionally affecting pieces of writing I have ever read. She captured so vividly and sensitively how it is possible to feel numb and alone, even when surrounded by people who love and care for you... I loved the poetic, mystical and ethereal nature of the author's prose and frequently found myself reflecting on the ideas and observations she introduced into the story. * BookGeek *

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Rhythm of War
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
False Value
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Tales from the Cafe
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Hours: Chain of Iron
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Tolkien Calendar 2021
Added to basket
Linda Hepworth

“A magical, enchanting read.”

When Danu Monk is fifteen she watches her parents die. They are victims of a virus which has resulted in five deaths, and affected many more, in the circus community which is her home. Even though she is taken in by... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.