Ts&Cs apply
Circus of Mirrors (Hardback)
  • Circus of Mirrors (Hardback)
zoom

Circus of Mirrors (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 368 Pages
Published: 12/09/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Julie Owen Moylan writes about mid-20th century women like no-one else' Laura Price
PRE-ORDER the dazzlingly compulsive new novel from Julie Owen Moylan – perfect for fans of Cabaret and The Whalebone Theatre

'Sexy, electrically stylish, and beautiful - a gorgeous story about sisterhood, and a glamorous, evocative passport to a period we all long to get lost in' Daisy Buchanan

'A tale of two sisters and a city, all three of them so vividly drawn, I felt I knew them. An almost unbearably poignant story of missed chances, long-hidden lies and women fighting the odds to grab happiness where they can. Superbly atmospheric, with convincingly flawed characters that just leap off the page' Frances Quinn

'An all-singing, all-dancing, moving and masterful book about two complex sisters living in incredibly complex times. Mid-twentieth century Berlin and the glittering world of Babylon Circus are brilliantly evoked and the characters live with us long after we've closed the book. Brilliant.' Anna Mazzola

'Bold, brave and absorbing' Elizabeth Buchan

'An epic novel, spanning decades as it explores with compassion and humanity the relationship of two sisters torn between the love and obligation they feel towards one another, and their desire for freedom and a better life that will split them apart' Louise Fein

BERLIN, 1926: After the death of their parents, sisters Leni and Annette only have each other. Desperate, but dreaming of better days, Leni finds work at a notorious cabaret: the Babylon Circus.

From the dancer’s barely-there costumes, to the glimmering mirrors that cover the walls, the Babylon Circus is where reality and fantasy merge. For Leni, it’s an overwhelming new world, and she’s happiest hiding in the shadows.

Until she meets the cabaret’s resident pianist, Paul. And so begins a tentative love affair that will play out over the next forty years. But, in a city whose divisions will define a century, can a love born within the feverish walls of the Babylon Circus ever survive? And can the bond between Leni and Annette – tugged in opposite directions of their own – also endure?

In Berlin, two sisters dared to dream of a better life – but where in this dark and dazzling city will they find their true home?

PRAISE FOR JULIE OWEN MOYLAN:
'Touching, entertaining and hopeful' Sunday Times
'Dazzling' Good Housekeeping
'I was gripped from the first page' Sara Cox
'Psychologically astute and emotionally absorbing,' DAILY MAIL
'A wonderfully evocative, immersive novel that brings 50s London to life, from the smog and the nightlife to attitudes towards women' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'Emotional, immersive and utterly absorbing' JENNIFER SAINT

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241651520
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 222 x 138 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Sexy, electrically stylish, and beautiful - a gorgeous story about sisterhood, and a glamorous, evocative passport to a period we all long to get lost in. Julie's such an incredible writer - Daisy Buchanan

A tale of two sisters and a city, all three of them so vividly drawn, I felt I knew them. An almost unbearably poignant story of missed chances, long-hidden lies and women fighting the odds to grab happiness where they can. Superbly atmospheric, with convincingly flawed characters that just leap off the page - Frances Quinn

An all-singing, all-dancing, moving and masterful book about two complex sisters living in incredibly complex times. Mid-twentieth century Berlin and the glittering world of the Babylon Circus are brilliantly evoked and, as always with Julie Owen Moylan's writing, the characters - astutely rendered, flawed and convincing - live with us long after we've closed the book. Brilliant - Anna Mazzola

The sisters are terrific, unsentimentally and vividly portrayed. So, too, is Berlin, filled with menace, glitter and upcoming destruction. Bold and brave and absorbing - Elizabeth Buchan

With hints of Atonement, this is an epic novel, spanning decades as it explores with compassion and humanity the relationship of two sisters torn between the love and obligation they feel towards one another, and their desire for freedom and a better life that will split them apart. It’s about secrets and hidden truths and the deep and long-lasting consequences of both. Above all it’s a story of missed opportunity, chance, guilt, love and forgiveness. I devoured this novel with its rich, vivid prose and its complex characters, tossed into conflict and dire circumstances through no fault of their own. A deeply thought-provoking and emotional story I will be thinking of long after I finished the final page. Utterly luminous - Louise Fein, author of The London Bookshop Affair

A sweeping saga of sisterhood, missed chances and a glittering circus sparkles fiercely against mid-20th century Berlin. Gorgeous and poignant. A captivating tale of two sisters that at turns dazzles and devastates - MA Kuznair

Praise for Julie Owen Moylan - :

Touching, entertaining, hopeful. A vivid sense of time, place, people's attitudes and fragilities - Sunday Times

I so enjoyed That Green Eyed Girl. The atmosphere of city heat and dust and stifling apartments was so vividly evoked. And I was equally invested in both narrative strands . . . I was hooked from the beginning - Clare Chambers

It's beautifully written and particularly wonderful on forbidden love, loss and forgiveness - Daily Mail

Gripping . . . Julie Owen Moylan vividly recreates drab, grey postwar London and her characters are convincing to the end - The Times

You may also be interested in...

Atonement
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Pompeii
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
The Zone of Interest
Added to basket
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: