Chuckwalla Land: The Riddle of California's Desert (Hardback)
  • Chuckwalla Land: The Riddle of California's Desert (Hardback)
zoom

Chuckwalla Land: The Riddle of California's Desert (Hardback)

(author)
£29.00
Hardback 280 Pages / Published: 21/04/2011
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Described as 'a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers' by the "San Francisco Chronicle", David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California - its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley, Red Rock Canyon, Kelso Dunes, and other locales, Wallace illuminates the desert's intriguing flora and fauna as he explores a controversial, unresolved scientific debate about the origin and evolution of its unusual ecosystems. Eminent scientists and scholars appear throughout these pages, including maverick paleobiologist Daniel Axelrod, botanist Ledyard Stebbins, and naturalists Edmund Jaeger and Joseph Wood Krutch. Weaving together ecology, geology, natural history, and mythology in his characteristically eloquent voice, Wallace reveals that there is more to this starkly beautiful landscape than meets the eye.

Publisher: University of California Press
ISBN: 9780520256163
Number of pages: 280
Weight: 544 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Gardener's Latin
Added to basket
AQA Biology A Level Year 2 Student Book
Added to basket
The Greatest Show on Earth
Added to basket
The Epigenetics Revolution
Added to basket
How to Pass Higher Biology
Added to basket
The Blind Watchmaker
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Human Universe
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
We Are Our Brains
Added to basket
Delusions of Gender
Added to basket
A Level Biology A for OCR Student Book
Added to basket
OCR A level Biology A Student Book 2 + ActiveBook
Added to basket
Advanced Biology
Added to basket
£49.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.