Children of Virtue and Vengeance - Legacy of Orisha (Paperback)
  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance - Legacy of Orisha (Paperback)
zoom

Children of Virtue and Vengeance - Legacy of Orisha (Paperback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 05/03/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The sequel to Waterstones Children’s Book of the Year category winner Children of Blood and Bone, this is another thrilling adventure packed with cinematic set pieces and credible, involving characters. Yet, in its portrayal of race and civil war, there is real emotional and political depth here too.  

From the Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize Older Fiction Award 2019

Children of Virtue and Vengeance is the breathtaking second title in Tomi Adeyemi's YA fantasy trilogy, Legacy of Orisha, following her ground-breaking, West African-inspired debut Children of Blood and Bone.

After battling the impossible, Zelie and Amari have finally succeeded in bringing magic back to the land of Orisha. But the ritual was more powerful than they imagined, reigniting the powers of not only the maji but also some nobles with magic ancestry.

Now, Zelie struggles to unite the maji in an Orisha where the enemy is just as strong and magical as they are. When Amari's mother forms an army of royals with newly awakened powers, Zelie fights to secure Amari's right to the throne and protect the new maji from the monarchy's wrath.

But with civil war looming on the horizon, Zelie finds herself at a breaking point: she must find a way to bring the kingdom together or watch as Orisha tears itself apart.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509899456
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 296 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Black Girl Magic indeed! . . . it storms the boundaries of imagination. - The New York Times, on Children of Blood and Bone

Infused with rich mythology of west Africa, Adeyemi’s lush world-building and consummate plotting breathes new life into a YA fantasy epic. Themes of oppression and racism resonate all too strongly in today’s political climate. The cliffhanger ending may leave some readers reeling but, rest assured, this is first in a trilogy. - Observer, on Children of Blood and Bone

Epic fantasy YA debut of magic and war. - Guardian, on Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi has created a lush, vibrant world, full of legend and lore, more than enough to sate even the most ravenous fantasy fan. - Melinda Salisbury, author Sin Eater’s Daughter on Children of Blood and Bone

This highly anticipated fantasy novel earned its 23-year-old Nigerian-American author a seven-figure deal. The first instalment of a three-part young adult trilogy, it draws on African myth and folklore and was reportedly inspired by the Black Lives Matters movement. The film rights were snapped up before the book was even published. - Irish Independent, on Children of Blood and Bone

Tomi Adeyemi spins a luxe tale of magic, adventure, and forbidden love . . . Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Game of Thrones will gobble this up. - Buzzfeed, on Children of Blood and Bone

The Harry Potter I should have had. - MostlyLit Podcast, on Children of Blood and Bone

All our bookselling instincts tell us Children of Blood and Bone is a book apart. - Waterstones Loves, on Children of Blood and Bone

The second book in Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired Legacy of Orïsha trilogy, following on from the highly acclaimed Children of Blood and Bone. Tomi Adeyemi has been billed as the next JK Rowling. Read the series and let us know if you agree - Muddy Stilettos

Tomi Adeyem's epic fantasy debut Children of Blood and Bone, was a publishing sensation, and her much-anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance, does not disappoint, as Zelie and Amari discover that bringing magic back to Orisha comes with its own set of problems. Black Panther with magic - Irish Independent

You may also be interested in...

Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unravel Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Greenwild: The City Beyond the Sea
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket

“Beautiful”

This continuation to CoBaB is just gorgeous! I’m in the US, and continually cringe at paying the shipping but will do it every time because Waterstones books are just stunning. Keep up the great work!

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

“A dynamic continuation of an epic series”

Children of Virtue and Vengeance is the gripping sequel to the stand out epic YA novel Children of Blood and Bone. Once again we are plunged back into the world of Orisha. Magic has returned to both the rebels... More

Hardback edition
8 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Just as thrilling, heartbreaking and awesome as the first!”

I always prefer fantasy books when they are used a tool to make a point, usually one on social issues, much like the His Dark Materials series by Philip Pullman. This series does just that and more. There is love,... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 33

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: