Chicago: A Novel (Paperback)
  • Chicago: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

Chicago: A Novel (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 29/11/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago-a city where some people knew too much, and where everyone should have known better-by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross.

Mike Hodge-veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry-probably shouldn't have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge.

In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic page-turner that roars through the Windy City's underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades, but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark "Mamet Speak," richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring-as no other writer can-questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062797209
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 256 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"All the trademarks of a Mamet production - electric dialogue and a hurtling pace." -- New York Times
As if Cormac McCarthy had decamped from Southwest to Midwest...Chicago feels like one of the great American male novelists of the late 20th century - Updike, Mailer, Bellow, Roth-trying his hand at writing a genre novel. But unlike those novelists' somewhat less sure-footed lunges...Mamet lands this with aplomb. -- Los Angeles Times
"Splendid... a riveting crime drama in a throwback journalistic world, a time when you could yell for a copy boy to bring you Dixie cups for your illegal liquor. But this novel has a romantic heart, and the emotional stakes complement the whiskey-drenched whodunit." -- USA Today
"Tommy guns, bootleggers and hard-living newsmen: David Mamet adds a vivid novel to a legendary tradition." -- Wall Street Journal
"Chicago is tremendous fun, with much to savour." -- The Times Literary Supplement
"Acclaimed playwright (Glengarry Glen Ross) and screenwriter (The Untouchables) Mamet unpacks his literary arsenal in his first novel in two decades.... Mamet offers a master class on dialogue.... For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane. -- Booklist (starred review)
"The story moves at a careening pace... Of a piece with character studies such as E.L. Doctorow's Ragtime and John Sayles' Eight Men Out, Mamet's book does Chicago-and organized crime-proud. An evocative, impressive return that Mamet fans will welcome." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Full of twists and surprises...Mamet's new novel is a treasure, a piece of fictitious history entrenched in an era of violence and love." -- Harvard Crimson
"The finest American writer of his generation." -- Sunday Mail

You may also be interested in...

Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Wish You Were Here
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket

“Underbelly of Chicago and the mob....”

A truly gripping whodunnit narrated through extensive use of dialogue between the main characters. This device adds a great deal of authenticity to the story.. you really feel you are observing events in Al... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 56

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.