Ts&Cs
apply
Chicago: A Novel of Prohibition (Hardback)
  • Chicago: A Novel of Prohibition (Hardback)
zoom

Chicago: A Novel of Prohibition (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 05/04/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago-a city where some people knew too much, and where everyone should have known better-by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross.

Mike Hodge-veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry-probably shouldn't have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge.

In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic page-turner that roars through the Windy City's underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades, but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark "Mamet Speak," richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring-as no other writer can-questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062797193
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 234 x 158 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'All the trademarks of a Mamet production - electric dialogue and a hurtling pace.' - New York Times

'As if Cormac McCarthy had decamped from Southwest to Midwest...Chicago feels like one of the great American male novelists of the late 20th century - Updike, Mailer, Bellow, Roth-trying his hand at writing a genre novel. But unlike those novelists' somewhat less sure-footed lunges...Mamet lands this with aplomb.' - Los Angeles Times

'Splendid... a riveting crime drama in a throwback journalistic world, a time when you could yell for a copy boy to bring you Dixie cups for your illegal liquor. But this novel has a romantic heart, and the emotional stakes complement the whiskey-drenched whodunit.' - USA Today

'Tommy guns, bootleggers and hard-living newsmen: David Mamet adds a vivid novel to a legendary tradition.' - Wall Street Journal

'Acclaimed playwright (Glengarry Glen Ross) and screenwriter (The Untouchables) Mamet unpacks his literary arsenal in his first novel in two decades.... Mamet offers a master class on dialogue.... For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane.' - Booklist (starred review)

'The story moves at a careening pace... Of a piece with character studies such as E.L. Doctorow's Ragtime and John Sayles' Eight Men Out, Mamet's book does Chicago-and organized crime-proud. An evocative, impressive return that Mamet fans will welcome.' - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

'Full of twists and surprises...Mamet's new novel is a treasure, a piece of fictitious history entrenched in an era of violence and love.' - Harvard Crimson

'The finest American writer of his generation.' - Sunday Mail

You may also be interested in...

The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£7.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Moonflower Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Underbelly of Chicago and the mob....”

A truly gripping whodunnit narrated through extensive use of dialogue between the main characters. This device adds a great deal of authenticity to the story.. you really feel you are observing events in Al... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 56

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.