Charlotte (Hardback)
  • Charlotte (Hardback)
  • Charlotte (Hardback)
zoom
Charlotte (Hardback)

Charlotte (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 03/09/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
For fans of Longbourn, The Other Bennet Sister and Bridgerton, this beautifully told story of marriage, duty and friendship follows Charlotte's story from where Pride and Prejudice ends. Everybody believes that Charlotte Lucas has no prospects. She is unmarried, plain, poor and reaching a dangerous age. But when she stuns the neighbourhood by accepting the proposal of buffoonish clergyman Mr Collins, her fortunes change. Her best friend Lizzy Bennet is appalled by her decision, yet Charlotte knows this is the only way to provide for her future. What she doesn't know is that her married life will propel her into a new world: not only of duty and longed-for children, but secrets, grief, unexpected love and friendship, and a kind of freedom. ------ Praise for Charlotte 'Sparkling . . . Will delight Jane Austen fans' Louisa Treger 'Beautifully written . . . paint[s] a vivid picture of female life in the 19th Century' Rebecca Mascull 'An utterly compelling read' Laura Carlin 'Astonishing' Stylist

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781785769108
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 559 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Astonishing * Stylist *
Helen Moffett respects the source text but breathes new and credible life into these beloved characters * Red Magazine *
Such a pleasure to read . . . The Charlotte in Helen's book is passionate, funny, loyal and, from the opening of the novel, drowning in grief. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I wished it was longer * Woman's Way *
Charlotte is a lyrical meditation on grief, and has the added pleasure of being set in the Pride and Prejudice universe * Petina Gappah, Guardian *
I loved this book. Fans of Pride and Prejudice will find this a worthy and engrossing companion, beautifully written. Feminist in nature, without ever lecturing the reader, it is an intimate and honest account of a woman's struggles and strengths, painting a vivid picture of female life in the nineteenth century. I always felt Charlotte Lucas and Miss de Bourgh had hidden depths that Austen's story did not have time to explore, so this is a satisfying and compelling addition to the Austen world * Rebecca Mascull *
This stunning debut follows Charlotte as she settles into life as a clergyman's wife but, as Jane Austen's heroines so often do, chafes against the restraints placed on her as a woman. Charlotte respects the source text but breathes new and credible life into these beloved characters (even Mr Collins improves with age) and at last Charlotte is given a voice * Red magazine *
A sparkling read, full of passion and flair. Will delight Jane Austen fans and lovers of good fiction * Louisa Treger *
An utterly compelling read and an exquisite rendering of human values. Written with a sensitive and perceptive hand, and with an affectionate homage to Austen's own unique style; spangles of wry humour and wit adorn the narrative throughout. Charlotte's distinctive voice chimes as brightly as a just-struck bell. Regarding Mr Collins; no doubt to the outside world he remains as Austen intended: part fool, part prig - these traits are neither denied nor negated - but with the deft skill of the author, we clearly begin to see Mr Collins not only through Charlotte's eyes, but also through her heart; and at once his prolixity is understood, his tenderness revealed. Charlotte is a book which complements, rather than copies. There is certainly a link with Pride and Prejudice, but not a chain; and the story moves confidently and freely in its own direction. I believe fans of Jane Austen will adore it! * Laura Carlin, author of The Wicked Cometh *
An enjoyable and entertaining read which explores women's constrained choices in early 19th-century England. * Historical Novels Review *
This debut takes a supporting character from Pride and Prejudice and makes her a satisfying heroine . . . An enjoyable, even racy addition to the drawing-room industry of novels riffing off Austen * The Sunday Times *
I'll urge anyone who's ever loved Pride and Prejudice to go and track down a copy of Charlotte. Moffett has certainly left enough tantalising breadcrumbs that may lead to further stories to follow on from this one. Charlotte was exactly the comfort reading I needed to read the moment I tucked into it, and I savoured every page. * Nerine Dorman *
Helen Moffet's portrayal of early nineteenth century life for women in households rich and poor is convincing and enthralling.Helen Moffett handles the character development deftly and it's good to see old friends like Eliza, Jane and Lydia appear - and be reminded that life doesn't stop at the altar. * Karen's Book Bag *
I loved it. The voice of the book was so measured, precise and gentle, and it meshed perfectly with the original. I found it deliciously satisfying * Rosie Fiore *
Wonderful and insightful . . . A compelling story, masterfully told * Mandy Collins *
This is a gem of a book . . . what a wonderful read * Eva Mazza *
Best of the new season page-turners...The South-African writer adds to the post-Austen sequel canon with the story of Charlotte becoming a mother. * Evening Standard *
Brilliant...an Austen retake with smarts. * STYLIST *

You may also be interested in...

Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Forgotten Legion
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket

“What Charlotte did next..”

Helen Moffett finally managed to get Charlotte Lucas out of the beautiful and clever Bennet sisters’ shadow and gave her a unique voice to shine through in this well written novel.

This beautifully constructed... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 51

“This is Charlotte’s story!”

Returning once again to the story of Pride and Prejudice, where Charlotte Lucas is in the background compared to Mrs Bennet and her daughters. Helen Moffett has written a story which makes Charlotte the star.
Written... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 44

“Charlotte comes alive”

A refreshing addition to the Jane Austen world. Moffett allows her own writing style to shine through, rather than slavishly trying to imitate Austen’s unique style. We are taken behind closed doors into the most... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.