• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism - Verso Classics (Paperback)
  • Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism - Verso Classics (Paperback)
zoom

Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism - Verso Classics (Paperback)

(author)
£13.99
Paperback 192 Pages / Published: 01/01/1997
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Walter Benjamin, one of the foremost cultural ommentators and theorists of the 20th century, is perhaps best known for his analyses of art in the modern age and the philosophy of history. Yet, it was through his study of the social and cultural history of late-19th-century Paris, examined particularly in relation to the figure of the great Parisian lyric poet Charles Baudelaire, that Benjamin tested and enriched some of his core concepts and themes. Contained within these pages are, among other insights, his notion of the "flaneur", his theory of memory and remembrance, his assessment of the utopian Fourier and his reading of the modernist movement. First translated in English in 1973, this is a study of the French lyric poet Charles Baudelaire. It should be useful as a text for readers of both Benjamin and Baudelaire, and for students of French literature. Walter Benjamin is the author of "One-Way Street", "The Origins of German Tagic Drama" and "Understanding Brecht".

Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 9781859841921
Number of pages: 192
Weight: 269 g
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm
Edition: New edition

You may also be interested in...

John Clare
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback
Goodbye to All That
Added to basket
In Byron's Wake
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Emily Dickinson
Added to basket
£3.99
Paperback
Selected Poems of Sylvia Plath
Added to basket
The Ode Less Travelled
Added to basket
Mr Lear
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Poems for a world gone to sh*t
Added to basket
Housman Country
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Poetry Please: The Seasons
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Deaths of the Poets
Added to basket
Birthday Letters
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Hatred of Poetry
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.