Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism - Verso Classics (Paperback)
  • Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism - Verso Classics (Paperback)

Charles Baudelaire: A Lyric Poet in the Era of High Capitalism - Verso Classics (Paperback)

£13.99
Paperback Published: 24/01/1997
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Walter Benjamin, one of the foremost cultural ommentators and theorists of the 20th century, is perhaps best known for his analyses of art in the modern age and the philosophy of history. Yet, it was through his study of the social and cultural history of late-19th-century Paris, examined particularly in relation to the figure of the great Parisian lyric poet Charles Baudelaire, that Benjamin tested and enriched some of his core concepts and themes. Contained within these pages are, among other insights, his notion of the "flaneur", his theory of memory and remembrance, his assessment of the utopian Fourier and his reading of the modernist movement. First translated in English in 1973, this is a study of the French lyric poet Charles Baudelaire. It should be useful as a text for readers of both Benjamin and Baudelaire, and for students of French literature. Walter Benjamin is the author of "One-Way Street", "The Origins of German Tagic Drama" and "Understanding Brecht".

Publisher: Verso Books
ISBN: 9781859841921

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot