Change of Seasons: A Memoir (Hardback)
  • Change of Seasons: A Memoir (Hardback)
zoom

Change of Seasons: A Memoir (Hardback)

(author), (author)
£22.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 19/10/2017
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250082657
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 635 g
Dimensions: 236 x 157 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"His story stands on its own, and it's one that Oates delights in telling. . . . A charming, almost breezy retrospective. . . . Change Of Seasons is Oates' moment in the spotlight, which he handles with aplomb." --AV Club

"Change of Seasons is not the Hall and Oates story; it's the John Oates story (he's kept diaries for decades), and one is struck not only by how talented he was but how hard he worked at it. It took lots of effort to look that smooth to the tune of 80 million copies." --Austin American-Statesman

"[A] fascinating memoir. . . . Highly recommended for fans of Hall & Oates and those interested in how much work it takes to be a hit act in the music business." --Library Journal

"Oates offers a memoir that might lead even his greatest critics to revisit the '80s icons. . . . Charm and curiosity distinguish him from the standard-issue pop star....Plenty of entertaining anecdotes on such topics as having Hunter S. Thompson for a neighbor." --Publishers Weekly

"An exceedingly entertaining, somewhat rueful chronicle of his life . . . . Andy Warhol, Michael Jackson, David Bowie, Lou Reed, Quincy Jones, Miles Davis, and Edgar Winter all make appearances." --Booklist, starred review

"Oates has reason to boast, but his prose is workmanlike and modest; more than anything else, he comes off as a fan of many artists of the day, from the Beatles to the Temptations and the earliest manifestations of Elton John and David Bowie. There's some Zelig-like right-place, right-time things happening here, too, such as a residence at LA's famed Tropicana Motel: as he writes, nicely, 'can't say I wasn't blown away by the fabulousity of it all because I was.' There's some sex and drugs along with the rock 'n' roll, but Oates emerges, like Hall, as a pretty sensible guy who recognized when he was going off the rails; in the end, he emerges as a seeker not of pleasure but of wisdom . . . Oates' musical admirers will find much to like here." --Kirkus Reviews

You may also be interested in...

Paul O'Grady's Country Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Cordially Invited
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Made In Scotland
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
On the Front Line with the Women Who Fight Back
Added to basket
Bernard Who?
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Fingers in the Sparkle Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Calypso
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Tina Turner: My Love Story (Official Autobiography)
Added to basket
How to be Champion
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Life of My Own
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
This Will Only Hurt a Little
Added to basket
Always Look on the Bright Side of Life
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
On Leopard Rock: A Life of Adventures
Added to basket
In Pieces
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Roger Daltrey: Thanks a lot Mr Kibblewhite
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.