• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics (Paperback)
  • Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics (Paperback)
zoom

Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 25/07/2013
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Chance Witness by Matthew Parris - a hilarious and fascinating portrait of life in politics, from Thatcher to Blair Winner of the Channel 4 / Politico's Political Book of the Year Award'Made me laugh out loud. A book full of wisdom' Simon Hoggart, GuardianIn this surprising and eccentric autobiography from a former Conservative MP, Matthew Parris writes of his personal and political life with equal candour. With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, he decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. He has worked with Margaret Thatcher, Chris Patten, Tony Blair and Michael Portillo, and his observations of political lifeand those who move within it are truly fascinating. This colourful memoir is an account of a young life already well lived.For readers of Margaret Thatcher by Charles Moore, and fans of The End of the Party by Andrew Rawnsley, this is a fascinating glimpse into modern British politics.'A five-star autobiography. Dazzling, hilarious and wonderful' Sunday TimesMatthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. He was a Conservative MP from 1979 to 1986, since when he has worked as a journalist. He is the author of A Castle in Spain, the acclaimed story of his medieval home in L'Avenc, as well as the bestselling books Parting Shots and A Spanish Ambassador's Suitcase, both based on the BBC Radio 4 series. He divides his time between Derbyshire (where his old constituency was situated) and east London.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241968291
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 415 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Shockingly Candid * Observer *
Of interest to students and lovers of politics alike, and indeed to anyone who is interested in the history of the last quarter of a century. Parris is a skilful entertainer, who informs as well as amuses -- Peter Bottomley * Literary Review *
Whimsy, polemic, irony, humour . . . a scintillating read -- Boris Johnson * Sunday Telegraph *
The perfect autobiographer * Spectator *
Brilliant, deliciously entertaining. I laughed a lot * Observer *

You may also be interested in...

Diana: Her True Story - In Her Own Words
Added to basket
Tank Action
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Homage to Catalonia
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Fishers of Men
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Operator
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Things Can Only Get Worse?
Added to basket
The Diary of a Young Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Life, Our Times
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
I Am Malala
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Testament Of Youth
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Paperback
The Long and Winding Road
Added to basket
Flesh and Blood
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Trump: The Art of the Deal
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Dreams From My Father
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
But You Did Not Come Back
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.