We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics (Paperback)
  • Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics (Paperback)

Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics (Paperback)

£9.99 £7.99
Paperback Published: 25/07/2013
  • Save £2.00
  • 5+ in stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
Chance Witness by Matthew Parris - a hilarious and fascinating portrait of life in politics, from Thatcher to Blair. It is the winner of the Channel 4 / Politico's Political Book of the Year Award. "Made me laugh out loud. A book full of wisdom". (Simon Hoggart, Guardian). In this surprising and eccentric autobiography from a former Conservative MP, Matthew Parris writes of his personal and political life with equal candour. With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, he decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. He has worked with Margaret Thatcher, Chris Patten, Tony Blair and Michael Portillo, and his observations of political lifeand those who move within it are truly fascinating. This colourful memoir is an account of a young life already well lived. For readers of Margaret Thatcher by Charles Moore, and fans of The End of the Party by Andrew Rawnsley, this is a fascinating glimpse into modern British politics. "A five-star autobiography. Dazzling, hilarious and wonderful". (Sunday Times). Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. He was a Conservative MP from 1979 to 1986, since when he has worked as a journalist. He is the author of A Castle in Spain, the acclaimed story of his medieval home in L'Avenc, as well as the bestselling books Parting Shots and A Spanish Ambassador's Suitcase, both based on the BBC Radio 4 series. He divides his time between Derbyshire (where his old constituency was situated) and east London.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241968291

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

View your review