• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Carrie's War - Puffin Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • Carrie's War - Puffin Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

Carrie's War - Puffin Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author), (author of introduction)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99 £5.49
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 03/07/2014
  • Save £1.50
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime.Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book. There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes.Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story.'I did a dreadful thing...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...'It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister.Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years.'Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children' Daily Telegraph***Perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian.***Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87.Also available in A Puffin Book: GOODNIGHT MISTER TOM and BACK HOME by Michelle Magorian CHARLOTTE'S WEB, STUART LITTLE and THE TRUMPET OF THE SWAN by E. B. White THE BORROWERS by Mary NortonSTIG OF THE DUMP by Clive KingROLL OF THUNDER, HEAR MY CRY by Mildred D. TaylorA DOG SO SMALL by Philippa PearceGOBBOLINO by Ursula Moray WilliamsCARRIE'S WAR by Nina BawdenMRS FRISBY AND THE RATS OF NIMH by Richard C O'BrienA WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'EngleTHE CAY by Theodore TaylorTARKA THE OTTER by Henry WilliamsonWATERSHIP DOWN by Richard AdamsSMITH by Leon GarfieldTHE NEVERENDING STORY by Michael EndeANNIE by Thomas MeehanTHE FAMILY FROM ONE END STREET by Eve Garnett

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141354903
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 74 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 11 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
Super Good Skills (Almost...)
Added to basket
Kid Normal
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Long Haul (Diary of a Wimpy Kid book 9)
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
A Place Called Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Captain Underpants Three Pant-tastic Novels in One
Added to basket
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Hard Luck (Diary of a Wimpy Kid book 8)
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Old School
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Everything's Amazing (Sort Of)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A War on the Senses”

Carrie’s War is a medium length book by Nina Bawden, about World War Two. It is reasonably priced and has small illustrations at the beginning of each chapter. The book is intended for readers aged 9-12. The story is... More

Paperback edition
3rd July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 51

“Carrie's War”

Carrie’s War, by Nina Bawden, is a children’s book about the Second World War. The book is aimed at boys and girls between the ages of 7-12.

The book takes place in the war in a Welsh mining village. It belongs to... More

Paperback edition
4th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.