Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Carrie's War - Puffin Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • Carrie's War - Puffin Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

Carrie's War - Puffin Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author), (author of introduction)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback Published: 06/01/2011
  • Not available

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
"Carrie's War" by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing ...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story "Carrie's War" has delighted readers for almost 40 years. "Nina Bawden is without question one of the very best writers for children". ("Daily Telegraph"). Perfect for fans of "Goodnight Mister Tom" by Michelle Magorian. It is now part of the "Puffin Modern Classics" series. Nina Bawden is one of today's best writers for both adults and children. she has often used her own childhood experiences in her books - "Carrie's War" is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for "The Peppermint Pig".

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141333304
Weight: 148 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 13 mm

You may also be interested in...

Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dork Diaries: Birthday Drama!
Added to basket
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Flamingo Boy
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Zog Christmas
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Kingdom of Ash
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Added to basket
The Truth Pixie
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Father Christmas and Me
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 15: What Monster?
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback

“A War on the Senses”

Carrie’s War is a medium length book by Nina Bawden, about World War Two. It is reasonably priced and has small illustrations at the beginning of each chapter. The book is intended for readers aged 9-12. The story is... More

Paperback edition
3rd July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 60

“Carrie's War”

Carrie’s War, by Nina Bawden, is a children’s book about the Second World War. The book is aimed at boys and girls between the ages of 7-12.

The book takes place in the war in a Welsh mining village. It belongs to... More

Paperback edition
4th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.