Car Crash Culture (Hardback)
  • Car Crash Culture (Hardback)
zoom

Car Crash Culture (Hardback)

(editor)
£51.00
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 12/01/2002
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
A morbidly fascinating and articulate collection of essays, this book explores the grim underside of America's cult of the automobile and the disturbing, frequently conspiratorial, speculations that arise whenever the car becomes the cause or the site of human death. Through analysis of fatal celebrity car accidents and other examples of death-by-automobile, as well as through personal memoir and forensic reports, cultural critics ponder our very human fascination with the car crash. Topics include the roles and experiences of passengers and bystanders, car crash conspiracy theories, the automobile as a site of murder, studies of car crash cinema, and psychological interpretations of the notion of the "accident". The book features original essays by such underground icons as Kenneth Anger and Adam Parfrey. Among general readers, this book should appeal to fans of J.G. Ballard and David Cronenberg, and to readers interested in conspiracy theory, apocalypse culture, science fiction, underground culture, and secret histories. JFK assassination buffs should enjoy the essay on the presidential limo.

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9780312240363
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 567 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 x 32 mm

You may also be interested in...

Photography: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
How to Read a Film
Added to basket
£27.99
Paperback
It's Complicated
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Live From Downing Street
Added to basket
Understanding Media
Added to basket
Introducing Media Studies
Added to basket
Manufacturing Consent
Added to basket
How to Market Books
Added to basket
Pax Technica
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Propaganda
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
The Sex Myth
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Uses of Literacy
Added to basket
Ogilvy on Advertising in the Digital Age
Added to basket
Brave New World Revisited
Added to basket
Tragedy: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.