We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Burial Rites (Hardback)
  • Burial Rites (Hardback)

Burial Rites (Hardback)

28 Reviews Write your review
£12.99
Hardback Published: 29/08/2013
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop

SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2013 GUARDIAN FIRST BOOK AWARD. In northern Iceland, 1829, Agnes Magnusdottir is condemned to death for her part in the brutal murder of her lover. Agnes is sent to wait out her final months on the farm of district officer Jon Jonsson, his wife and their two daughters. Horrified to have a convicted murderer in their midst, the family avoid contact with Agnes. Only Toti, the young assistant priest appointed Agnes's spiritual guardian, is compelled to try to understand her. As the year progresses and the hardships of rural life force the household to work side by side, Agnes's story begins to emerge and with it the family's terrible realization that all is not as they had assumed. Based on actual events, Burial Rites is an astonishing and moving novel about the truths we claim to know and the ways in which we interpret what we're told. In beautiful, cut-glass prose, Hannah Kent portrays Iceland's formidable landscape, in which every day is a battle for survival, and asks, how can one woman hope to endure when her life depends upon the stories told by others? Burial Rites is perfect for fans of Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood and The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447233169

You may also be interested in...

“Powerfully Evocative”

I've been meaning to write about this book for such a long time. I had the pleasure of getting my hands on a copy about a year ago and the experience of reading the book has very much stayed with me. It's... More

Paperback edition
28th February 2015
Helpful? Upvote 8

“”

Beautiful, lyrical, brutal, harsh, tragic, hopeful, inspiring, devastating, painful, evoking, gut-wrenching, heart-breaking, haunting powerful, soulful, wonderful, evocative, this is a novel that will seep, deep down... More

Paperback edition
18th March 2015
Helpful? Upvote 7

“a ray of light in an austere novel”

An austere novel that impresses because of its description of life in Iceland in the 19th century. You can practically feel the cold and the darkness seeping through the pages. Main protagonist Agnes is one of the... More

Paperback edition
9th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 7

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot