Brood: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • Brood: Signed Edition (Hardback)
zoom

Brood: Signed Edition (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 240 Pages / Published: 01/04/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Filled with care, grief and hope, this dazzlingly unique debut about a year in the life of a woman dedicated to her small brood of four chickens is an arresting meditation on choices and motherhood.

Signed Edition

A standard edition is available here

'The coop houses no predators, but the chickens do not know this. A chicken knows only what it can see. A chicken's life is full of magic. Lo and behold.'

Meet Gloria, Gam Gam, Darkness, Miss Hennepin County, and their unlikely owner. Over the course of a single year, our nameless narrator heroically tries to keep her small brood of four chickens alive despite the seemingly endless challenges that caring for another creature entails. From the freezing nights of a brutal winter to a sweltering summer which brings a surprise tornado, she battles predators, bad luck, and the uncertainty of a future that may not look anything like the one she always imagined.

Brood by Jackie Polzin is a darkly witty, deeply moving and startling original debut novel of motherhood and grief, full of sorrow, joy and unrelenting hope. Perfect for fans of Jenny Offill and Elizabeth Strout.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 2928377053376
Number of pages: 240
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Brood, which chronicles a year of grief subsumed through care, abounds in wit, charm, and the very mystery of being.' - Joy Williams, author of The Visiting Privilege

'This is the most wonderful book! Acutely observed and flawlessly conveyed. Completely original, full of surprise, humor, grief, and wisdom and just the right amount of chickens. I am hugely on board with Brood.' - Karen Joy Fowler, author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

'A beautiful book: sharp and funny and wonky in a way that only accentuates its depth of feeling, its clarity of thought, and its desperately human sadness.' - Lisa McInerney, author of The Glorious Heresies

'Oh, did I love this book and its magnificent cast of characters-human and avian alike. Brood is the most vibrant and compelling slice of life I've been privy to in a great while-it's generous, original, and witty, an absolute treasure of a novel.' - Claire Lombardo, bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

'I have never read a book like this one. Written with such delicacy, such elegance, the prose made me feel that the narrator has opened her heart to me, even as she withholds so much. This was a book about everything-joy and love and beauty and loss. Marriage and motherhood and friendship and grief. All brought to life through the story of a little backyard flock. I was surprised at every turn, moved to laughter and tears both-I could not put it down.' - Emily Ruskovich, author of Idaho

'A book about caretaking, about trauma and loss, about keeping others and one's self alive, with sentences so confident and exact they continually took my breath away, Brood is that rare book that lives inside of you long after it's over, that reminds you of the vast amounts of life that language is capable of conjuring.' - Lynn Steger Strong, author of Want

'Witty and profound . . . Told in short vignettes studded with breath-catching wisdom, this novel feels both delicate and sustaining from beginning to end.' - Publisher's Weekly

'What pleasant alchemy is this novel? Polzin's debut conjures humors and sadness in Minnesota, where the narrator ponders the potential of motherhood, a pending move, and the strangeness of raising animals who force us to consider the world in a new, slower, sideways perspective (which leads us to wonder: maybe the strangeness is us?).' - Most Anticipated 2021 Preview, The Millions

You may also be interested in...

Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blunt Force
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Joanna Halpin

“Gentle and profound”

This is a perfect book to ease you out of the darkness of and endless pandemic winter. An anonymous narrator talks us through her story of keeping chickens over a relentlessly hard winter. Her observations of her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A beautiful study of grief”

I adored this deceptively simplistic novel about a nameless narrator trying to keep her chickens alive over the course of one year, against a background of a potential move across the country for her husband's... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Story about chickens ?”

Firstly thank you to Picador for a proof edition on this book.
its about 4 chickens,i think it was meant to be about the unknown narrator who had lost a baby through a miscarriage when cleaning a house for her sister... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.