• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Opt in by 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
REVIEW NOW
Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14) (Hardback)
  • Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14) (Hardback)
zoom

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14) (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 19/11/2015
  • Out of stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Now a Sunday Times bestseller!

Simon Scarrow's veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?

Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato's mission: to cement Rome's triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.

When Macro's patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier's mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it's Cato and his men who will pay the price...

Includes maps and charts.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472213327
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 599 g
Dimensions: 198 x 135 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy... It is heartening for fans of Cato and Macro that their adventures remain as lively as ever -- Antonia Senior * The Times *
Fourteen books in and he manages to make the series fresh again, a new depth to Macro and Cato, a new edge to the Roman world and conflicts in Britannia, all achieved with style and a simply splendid plot line. Highly recommended * Parmenion Books *
Britannia ... among the very best and quite possibly my favourite. From the opening chapter, Scarrow plunges us deep into a place that is as dangerous as it is atmospheric, the winter creeping in, beset by the hostility of the people who live in these hills... The action and drama never let up from first to last pages... There is one scene in particular involving Cato and boats during a great storm that is absolutely fantastic, brilliantly written and imagined * Winternights Blog *
Praise for Simon's earlier novels 'A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read * Mail on Sunday *
I don't need this kind of competition -- Bernard Cornwell
Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills * Living History *
An engrossing storyline, full of teeth-clenching battles, political machinations, treachery, honour, love and death...More please! -- Elizabeth Chadwick
Tremendous * Daily Express *
Scarrow's rank with the best * Independent *
Scarrow's engaging pair of heroes... top stuff * Daily Telegraph *
What an amazing roller-coaster of a ride... this book is fantastic... So startlingly good, so utterly readable - and so very, very courageous -- Manda Scott
Gripping and moving story about the war and the protagonists' fractured friendships... [Scarrow's] sense of plot and pace is strong * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Virgin's Lover
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.