Ts&Cs apply
Bridges to Burn: An unputdownable Scottish police procedural - Detective Clare Mackay (Paperback)
  • Bridges to Burn: An unputdownable Scottish police procedural - Detective Clare Mackay (Paperback)
zoom

Bridges to Burn: An unputdownable Scottish police procedural - Detective Clare Mackay (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 07/03/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

How can DI Clare Mackay uncover the facts if nothing is what it seems?

DI Clare Mackay is called to Albany High, where the body of a girl has been found. A suspected suicide – yet Sophie Bakewell was by all accounts a cheerful, talented student. Could she really have been hiding a darker side?

It’s not the only disturbing case to land on Clare’s desk. Across town, an elderly man is in danger. Yet before the police can determine the facts, everything changes and they are presented with two suspicious deaths to investigate.

As Clare and her team face the possibility that anything they believe to be true about the deaths is wrong, they might find that a killer can lurk behind the most innocent of faces…

An unputdownable crime thriller from the queen of Tartan Noir, perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Lin Anderson and JD Kirk.

Praise for Bridges to Burn

‘Engrossing and immersive... had me hooked from the first page and I devoured it in one sitting’ Angela Marsons, author of the Detective Kim Stone series

‘Bridges to Burn is a treat for anyone who loves gripping, well plotted police procedurals with compelling character arcs... full of twists’ Rachel McLean, author of the Dorset Crime series

‘Intriguingly plotted with a plethora of teasingly plausible suspects’ Tim Sullivan, author of the DS Cross Thrillers

‘I absolutely loved Bridges to Burn... had me hooked from beginning to end’ Rachel Lynch, author of the DI Kelly Porter series

‘Such a gripping police procedural and a superb cast of characters. I feel like Clare’s team are old friends, and I can’t wait to read more from the Mackay series’ J.M. Hewitt, author of The Crew

‘Marion Todd just gets better and better. This latest installment keeps the reader turning the pages to a breathless finale’ Sheila Bugler, author of Black Valley Farm

‘Pacy, thrilling and full of twists and turns... A genuinely brilliant whodunnit that oozes all the dread, mystery and excitement that we've come to expect from this series’ Jonathan Whitelaw, author of The Bingo Hall Detectives

'Very human characters, superbly timed surprises and a masterfully plotted mystery... A page-turning success' B P Walter, author of Notes on a Murder

‘Sparkling prose and a nail-biting plot’ Sarah Ward, author of The Birthday Girl

‘Good storyline and engaging… hard to put down’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘This is the first book I have read by this author, and it certainly will not be the last. The story was well-crafted, gripping and quite brilliant. A brilliant police procedural’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘There are plenty of twists and red herrings to keep us on our toes. I love Marion's style of writing. The storyline is gripping… I think this is the best book in the series, so far’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

‘Love the Claire Mackay novels. Great writing and premise. Amazing characters. Page-turner. Plenty of suspense to keep me guessing’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Reader review

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781804362150
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“An excellent read.”

I really enjoy this well written series of books, set in St Andrew's featuring Detective Clare MacKay, and I think this is the best so far! it can be read as a stand alone but I would recommend reading the whole... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Also works as a standalone”

4.5 stars

Another fast-paced addition to the DI Clare Mackay series. I haven't yet read all of them in the series, but believe each one also works well standalone.

I really like the characters, they are... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A fabulous Scottish crime tale”

This was my introduction to the DI Clare Mackay series &, although it is the eighth instalment, it reads well as a standalone. You do not have to have read the previous books.

We meet Clare as she & her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: