Breathe: a killer lurks in the worst fog London has ever known (Hardback)
  • Breathe: a killer lurks in the worst fog London has ever known (Hardback)
zoom

Breathe: a killer lurks in the worst fog London has ever known (Hardback)

(author)
£17.99
Hardback 528 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Donald combines historical events and fictional characters to superb effect, in a novel that deserves to win prizes' The Sunday Times

'Remarkably accomplished . . . the most appealing, original protagonist I've read for some time . . . Donald's depiction of the city's thickening gloom is splendidly evocative . . . A very impressive debut' Observer

A stunning debut crime novel for fans of Robert Harris, Philip Kerr and C.J. Sansom's Dominion.

London, 1952. Dick Bourton is not like the other probationer policemen in Notting Hill. He's older, having fought in Europe and then Korea. And he's no Londoner, being from Cotswold farming stock. Then there's Anna, the exotically beautiful White Russian fiancee he has brought back to these drab streets and empty bombsites. She may as well come from a different planet.

The new copper also has a mind of his own. After an older colleague is shot by a small-time gangster they are chasing in a pea-souper fog, something nags at Bourton's memory. He begins to make connections which his superiors don't want to see, linking a whole series of deaths and the fogs that stop the city in its tracks.

Desperate to prove himself and his theories, Bourton fails to notice the fear which his mysterious bride is doing her best to conceal - and overcome.

Soon both Anna and Bourton are taking dangerous paths into the worst fog London has ever known...


**********

"London had gone. As he stepped through the wicket, a dry smoky chill puffing over the lintel, everything that made the city - skyline, street signs, crowds, scarlet double-deckers - had disappeared, lost in the murk. I can't see the kerb, for God's sake, let alone Barker's across the road. He looked both ways, the chill crawling down his neck . . . Coshing gangs will love this. And our man. But we're on your trail, sunshine. He raised his hat to Marling, locking up behind. Tomorrow we nab you."

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444775532
Number of pages: 528
Weight: 792 g
Dimensions: 241 x 163 x 46 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An outstanding debut . . . Donald combines historical events and fictional characters to superb effect, in a novel that deserves to win prizes. * The Sunday Times, Crime Book of the Month *
The combination of thriller plot with pervasive moral uncertainty reminded me at times of le Carre. Historically fascinating, too. All in all, this is one of the finest debuts I've read for a while. -- Andrew Taylor, author of Ashes of London
Remarkably accomplished . . . the most appealing, original protagonist I've read for some time . . . Donald's depiction of the city's thickening gloom is splendidly evocative . . . A very impressive debut' -- Alison Flood * Observer *
Dominick Donald's portrayal of the difficulties and dangers faced by Londoners is superb . . . Breathe is a hugely impressive debut. * The Times *
Dominick Donald is an exceptional writer. His depiction of post-war London is beautifully detailed, as are his descriptions of the lethal fogs that left the city gasping for breath. On top of that he has peopled his nail-biting story with a rich variety of characters, many of them coppers, who might easily have stepped out of a Dickens novel. Gripping to the last page, it's a mystery unlike any other I've read. -- Rennie Airth
A brilliant book, an extraordinary mix of fiction and fact so real it will make your skin crawl. The sights, sounds, grit and desperation of postwar London hang over every step into the poisonous mysteries of the fog. Close the windows, pull up the duvet and keep the light on. -- Tom Harper
Atmospheric and intriguing * Country & Town House *
This subtly woven mixture of fiction and fact, which partly draws on the notorious case of 10 Rillington Place and the serial killer Reg Christie, casts a magical spell, and even includes a moving love story. It is a stunning debut from a former academic, security expert and journalist. You can smell the fog and feel the breath being sucked out of your body as you struggle to understand what is happening in the darkness * Daily Mail *
Dominick Donald sustains the tension beautifully over the course of this long book, depicting his smoggy setting so well that your eyes sting while your pulse races. * Sunday Express *
Gripping * Guardian *
This debut will keep you absorbed for nights on end . . . Dominick Donald combines tangy depiction of ration-era London with a strong historical context, featuring among many vividly realised scenes, a chase through the Underground that will haunt your commute for weeks. * Metro *
Dominick Donald's novel is a remarkably convincing re-creation of a London that, although well within living memory, has vanished forever. Rich in detail and dialogue that successfully resurrect the period, it's a thriller that holds the reader's attention -- Nick Rennison * BBC History Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Comforts of Home: Simon Serrailler Book 9
Added to basket
The Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.