Book V (Hardback)
  • Book V (Hardback)
zoom

Book V (Hardback)

(author)
£20.99
Hardback 544 Pages / Published: 03/10/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

1899, South Yorkshire

Fourteen-year-old Tommy has been destined to a life working down the mines since the moment he was born. But he has bigger plans for his future.

His best friend Josie from the neighbouring village is equally restless. The wealthy family that owns the mines are dictating harsher conditions than ever.

The one source of intrigue and pleasure in their grim Yorkshire life is their fascination with the deserted house between their two villages. Heston Manor has been shut up and uninhabited for years following a family tragedy. And when they discover that its mysteries aren't all in the past, their lives change forever...

'Tracy Rees writes from the heart' Kathryn Hughes, author of The Letter. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781786486714
Number of pages: 544
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed * Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter *
I loved the evocative atmosphere of the 20's, the lovely characters and gorgeous descriptions of nature/turning of the seasons -- Lucinda Riley * bestselling author of The Pearl Sister *
Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction * Lucinda Riley, bestselling author *
Tracy's meticulous research and lavish prose provide the reader with the complete experience. From the intriguing premise, I was caught up in the lives of these three women and invested in their stories. Tracy's depiction of life in Richmond in the twenties was spot on and added depth to this glorious novel -- Kathryn Hughes * bestselling author of The Letter *
Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark * Lucinda Riley *
Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life * Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen *
A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby. -- Rachel Hore
The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down * Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's *
I love Tracy's writing; it's full of colour and atmosphere, with sparkly dialogue and just the right pace to keep you turning the pages -- Gill Paul * author of Another Woman's Husband *
An enjoyable and intriguing read * Trisha Ashley *
A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page * Richard and Judy on Amy Snow *
Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place * Leah Fleming *
Darling Blue is a clever book that's a joy to read ... the drama rises by subtle, tiny increments until, at its climax, you have to remind yourself to breathe. These three women will stay with you for a long, long time -- Claire Dyer * author of The Last Day *
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic * Rosanna Ley *
Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake! * Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife *
I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told * Nicola Cornick *
Completely delightful, I loved it and the 1920s setting is sublime. Tracy writes with a warmth and authenticity that draws her readers into the delicious world she has created. -- Rosanna Ley * author of Her Mother's Secret *
I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! * Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky *
I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into the delicious effervescent world of Richmond in the 1920s. Tracy has such a lovely turn of phrase. Full of vitality and warmth, Darling Blue is delightful -- Tor Udall
This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings * Psychologies *
The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role * Woman *
[Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s * One More Page *
Descriptive, mysterious and romantic * My Weekly *
Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word * Linda's Book Bag *
It's a simply glorious read, one of the best books I've read in a very long time. Tracy's writing is so deep and wise and true. It captured me from the first word ... a truly stunning novel -- Nicola Cornick * author of House of Shadows *
[Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes * Historical Novel Reviews *
Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place * Chorley Guardian *
Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale * Candis *

You may also be interested in...

The Cake Shop in the Garden
Added to basket
This Man Confessed
Added to basket
Mariana
Added to basket
£12.00
Paperback
You Had Me At Hello
Added to basket
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Love in the Time of Cholera
Added to basket
One Night: Unveiled
Added to basket
Beneath This Man
Added to basket
The Perfect Match
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Country Wedding
Added to basket
This Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bared to You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Love & Misadventure
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.