Book of Night (Hardback)
  • Book of Night (Hardback)
zoom

Book of Night (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 03/05/2022

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Leigh Bardugo, the adult fantasy debut from the YA titan pitches reckless Charlie into a world of gloamists, backstabbers and doppelgangers with a potentially world-changing secret up for grabs.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn't pick, a book she couldn't steal, or a bad decision she wouldn't make. She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie.

Now, she's trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but going straight isn't easy. Bartending at a dive, she's still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that her shadowless and possibly soulless boyfriend has been keeping secrets from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends back into a maelstrom of murder and lies. Determined to survive, she's up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world - all trying to steal a secret that will allow them control of the shadow world and more.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529102376
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 536 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

With a gripping, perfectly paced story and a killer ending, this dark fantasy feels like an instant classic - Guardian

Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists -- a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages. - Leigh Bardugo, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ninth House

If Neil Gaiman channelled Stephen King, the result might be this book . . . scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again. - James Rollins, New York Times bestseller of The Starless Crown

Holly Black is a master of fantasy with the Midas touch -- there is no story she cannot turn to gold. - V.E. Schwab, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Superb, entangling magic and mystery around the gritty horrors of human nature, neglectful parenting and the scourge of severe income inequalities . . . Will have you frantically turning pages and finishing in less time than you thought possible. Everything you could want from a modern fantasy. - SFX

A gripping ride from start to finish. Book of Night invites you to reckon with the shadows of your past. - Olivie Blake, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Atlas Six

Fuelled by Holly Black's wonderfully limitless imagination, Book of Night is a whip-smart and mysterious novel - CultureFly

Heart, soul, and a bit of kink -- Book of Night is smart, decadent fun. - Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize Finalist

A delicious, dark, adrenaline rush of a book. I'm already dying to see Charlie Hall's next con. - Alix E. Harrow, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Once and Future Witches

A deliciously clever page-turner. - Paolo Bacigalupi, New York Times Bestselling author of The Water Knife

A dark romp full of danger and shadows with a razor-sharp heroine and vivid magic. - Zoraida Córdova, bestselling author of The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina

Black is a master at world-building. - The New York Times

The many mysteries keep the suspense sizzling as Charlie guides readers through this slippery world. Black's adult fans and readers looking for dark urban fantasy will be thrilled. - Publishers Weekly

Book of Night delivers hot sex, a breathless plot, perfect characters, and some of the most gorgeous writing I've read in years, sharp as a razor blade, clear as a one-way glass. - Ellen Kushner, award-winning author of Swordspoint

...[T]he story builds to an exciting climax that will certainly leave you crossing your fingers for a sequel. - Paste Magazine

You may also be interested in...

Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Iron Flame
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Mist and Fury
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Wings and Ruin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Fate Inked in Blood
Added to basket
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sunbringer
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
House of Flame and Shadow
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
A Day of Fallen Night
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Inkslinger

“Expertly crafted debut into adult fantasy!”

Though I've fallen for Folk of the Air's Cardan through fan art and bought a handful of sets of the books, I've yet to read them. So, when author Holly Black announced her debut into adult fiction with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20
Millie Slingsby

“Great start to a great book!”

Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for providing a free sample of the first 3 chapters in exchange for an honest review!

I was not ready for the sample to be over, I wanted to carry on reading so badly! I was so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19
Micky - bookphenomena

“a creepy, messy and exciting read”

Headlines:
Morally dark-grey goodness
Darkness and shady shadows
Corruption

I loved so much about this fantasy offering from Holly Black. There was an absolutely fantastic female MC in Charlie Hall. She was shady,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: