Ts&Cs apply
Book of Night (Hardback)
  • Book of Night (Hardback)
zoom

Book of Night (Hardback)

(author)
RRP £16.99
£8.49
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 03/05/2022
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Leigh Bardugo, the adult fantasy debut from the YA titan pitches reckless Charlie into a world of gloamists, backstabbers and doppelgangers with a potentially world-changing secret up for grabs.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn't pick, a book she couldn't steal, or a bad decision she wouldn't make. She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie.

Now, she's trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but going straight isn't easy. Bartending at a dive, she's still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that her shadowless and possibly soulless boyfriend has been keeping secrets from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends back into a maelstrom of murder and lies. Determined to survive, she's up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world - all trying to steal a secret that will allow them control of the shadow world and more.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9781529102376
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 536 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists - a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages.' - Leigh Bardugo

'If Neil Gaiman channelled Stephen King, the result might be this book... scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.' - James Rollins

'Holly Black is a master of fantasy with the Midas touch - there is no story she cannot turn to gold.' - V.E. Schwab

'Superb, entangling magic and mystery around the gritty horrors of human nature, neglectful parenting and the scourge of severe income inequalities... Will have you frantically turning pages and finishing in less time than you thought possible. Everything you could want from a modern fantasy.' - SFX

'A gripping ride from start to finish. Book of Night invites you to reckon with the shadows of your past.' - Olivie Blake

A delicious, dark, adrenaline rush of a book. I'm already dying to see Charlie Hall's next con.' - Alix E. Harrow

You may also be interested in...

The Leviathan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
Hell Bent
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Atlas Paradox
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
A Magic Steeped In Poison
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Legends & Lattes
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
She Who Became the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fall of Numenor
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
The Silmarillion
Added to basket
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Inkslinger

“Expertly crafted debut into adult fantasy!”

Though I've fallen for Folk of the Air's Cardan through fan art and bought a handful of sets of the books, I've yet to read them. So, when author Holly Black announced her debut into adult fiction with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11
Millie (milliereadsalot)

“Great start to a great book!”

Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for providing a free sample of the first 3 chapters in exchange for an honest review!

I was not ready for the sample to be over, I wanted to carry on reading so badly! I was so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9
Micky - bookphenomena

“a creepy, messy and exciting read”

Headlines:
Morally dark-grey goodness
Darkness and shady shadows
Corruption

I loved so much about this fantasy offering from Holly Black. There was an absolutely fantastic female MC in Charlie Hall. She was shady,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.