Book of Night: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Book of Night: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Book of Night: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom
Book of Night: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

Book of Night: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 03/05/2022
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Erin Morgenstern and Leigh Bardugo, the adult fantasy debut from the YA titan pitches reckless Charlie into a world of gloamists, backstabbers and doppelgangers with a potentially world-changing secret up for grabs.

Exclusive Edition with sprayed edge

A Standard Edition is available here

#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn't pick, a book she couldn't steal, or a bad decision she wouldn't make. She's spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie.

Now, she's trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but going straight isn't easy. Bartending at a dive, she's still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that her shadowless and possibly soulless boyfriend has been keeping secrets from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends back into a maelstrom of murder and lies. Determined to survive, she's up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world - all trying to steal a secret that will allow them control of the shadow world and more.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 2928377087319
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 350 g
Dimensions: 240 x 156 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Dark, strange, thick with mystery and twists - a story so believable in its magic, you'll be keeping one eye on your shadow as you turn the pages.' - Leigh Bardugo

'If Neil Gaiman channelled Stephen King, the result might be this book... scintillating prose, whiplash twists, and a voice of character that demands to be heard from again.' - James Rollins

'Holly Black is a master of fantasy with the Midas touch - there is no story she cannot turn to gold.' - V.E. Schwab

'Superb, entangling magic and mystery around the gritty horrors of human nature, neglectful parenting and the scourge of severe income inequalities... Will have you frantically turning pages and finishing in less time than you thought possible. Everything you could want from a modern fantasy.' - SFX

'A gripping ride from start to finish. Book of Night invites you to reckon with the shadows of your past.' - Olivie Blake

A delicious, dark, adrenaline rush of a book. I'm already dying to see Charlie Hall's next con.' - Alix E. Harrow

An evening with Holly Black - in conversation with V.E Schwab

An evening with Holly Black - in conversation with V.E Schwab

The Glee Club, 11 Renfrew Street, Glasgow, G2 3AB
Tuesday 24th May 19:00

The Sunday Times bestselling author Holly Black returns with Book of Night, her debut dark adult fantasy novel set in the shadowy thieves and secret societies, in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus.

View
An evening with Holly Black - in conversation with RF Kuang

An evening with Holly Black - in conversation with RF Kuang

The Glee Club, The Arcadian, 70 Hurst Street, Birmingham, B5 4TD
Wednesday 25th May 19:00

The Sunday Times bestselling author Holly Black returns with Book of Night, her debut dark adult fantasy novel set in the shadowy thieves and secret societies, in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus.

View
An evening with Holly Black - in conversation with Samantha Shannon

An evening with Holly Black - in conversation with Samantha Shannon

Conway Hall, 25 Red Lion Square, London, WC12 4RL
Friday 27th May 20:00

The Sunday Times bestselling author Holly Black returns with Book of Night, her debut dark adult fantasy novel set in the shadowy thieves and secret societies, in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus.

View

You may also be interested in...

The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Inkslinger

“Expertly crafted debut into adult fantasy!”

Though I've fallen for Folk of the Air's Cardan through fan art and bought a handful of sets of the books, I've yet to read them. So, when author Holly Black announced her debut into adult fiction with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Micky - bookphenomena

“a creepy, messy and exciting read”

Headlines:
Morally dark-grey goodness
Darkness and shady shadows
Corruption

I loved so much about this fantasy offering from Holly Black. There was an absolutely fantastic female MC in Charlie Hall. She was shady,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Millie (milliereadsalot)

“Great start to a great book!”

Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for providing a free sample of the first 3 chapters in exchange for an honest review!

I was not ready for the sample to be over, I wanted to carry on reading so badly! I was so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.