• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Bones in the Belfry (Paperback)
  • Bones in the Belfry (Paperback)
zoom

Bones in the Belfry (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 19/01/2012
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Having extricated himself from the embarrassment of murdering his lady parishioner, the Rev. Oughterard is now plunged into the traumas of art theft.

Forced by the shady Nicholas Ingaza into being a fence for stolen paintings, he endures the investigative probings of terrifying female novelist and amateur sleuth, Maud Tubbly Pole, hell-bent on portraying him in her next novel.

Haunted by the recent murder and fearful of exposure in his new role of 'receiver', the Reverend blunders haplessly in a mesh of intrigue and risible deceit. As before, his antics are commented upon by his cat, the acidic Maurice, and redoubtable bone-grinding ally, the dog Bouncer.


Praise for Suzette A. Hill:

'Perfect one-sitting summer read.' Laura Wilson, Guardian

'I think this is tremendous - amusing and professional' Dame Beryl Bainbridge

'E F Benson crossed with Jerome K Jerome' The Times audiobooks review

'This dry, funny British gem, with its eccentric cast of characters, will have readers laughing and eagerly awaiting the next episode' Publishers Weekly

'An intriguingly quirky read! And Maurice the cat is a very clever puss indeed!' Leslie Phillips OBE

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781780332482
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 216 g
Dimensions: 201 x 172 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Quite why this series should be charming, astringent and witty, instead of emetically twee, I am not sure, but it is entirely delightful. -- Laura Wilson * Guardian *
There is a feel of Wodehouse about this book...the prose is delicious and I enjoyed every word of it. Highly recommended * Mystery Woman. *
This is English country life done up Seinfeld style, complete with a gin drinking bull-dog. It should appeal to fans of Martha Grimes, Saki and Wodehouse. * Historical Novel Society. *

You may also be interested in...

The Burial Hour
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Lying Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Love Like Blood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.00
Hardback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Know a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Invisible Guardian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Venetian Game
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hanged Man
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Good Friday
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Late Show
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Word Is Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.