Ts&Cs apply
Body Language - Cassie Raven (Paperback)
  • Body Language - Cassie Raven (Paperback)
zoom

Body Language - Cassie Raven (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 26/11/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
For fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs comes a gripping debut thriller introducing Camden's most exciting new forensic investigator. 'SPELLBINDING STORYTELLING' VAL MCDERMID 'A FIRST-RATE CRIME NOVEL ... I LOVED IT' ELLY GRIFFITHS 'LIKE SILENT WITNESS BUT MUCH MORE BELIEVABLE' SUSI HOLLIDAY **DON'T MISS CASSIE RAVEN'S NEXT MYSTERY, CASE SENSITIVE, AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER NOW!** Mortuary technician Cassie Raven believes the dead can talk. We just need to listen . . . Cassie Raven is used to people thinking her job is strange - why would anyone want to cut up dead bodies for a living? But they don't know what she knows: that the dead want to tell us what happened to them. She's eviscerated thousands of bodies, but never someone she knew, someone who meant a lot to her - until now. The pathologist says her death was an accident. Her body is telling Cassie differently. Praise for Body Language: 'Blackly humorous, with a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist' Heat Magazine 'Ingenious and sardonically written' Financial Times '[A] gritty novel with an engaging heroine' Sunday Times 'A terrific, well-placed plot' Spectator 'Cassie Raven is a lot of fun to spend time with' Big Issue 'Excellent fun, compulsive and Cassie Raven is a protagonist I want to meet again soon' James Oswald 'Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar' Sarah Hilary 'Move over Silent Witness - Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine' Isabelle Grey 'A fresh and exciting new series' Claire McGowan 'One of the best series openers I've read in years' Jane Casey

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838770044
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 281 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A. K. Turner spins science into spellbinding storytelling * Val McDermid *
A first-rate crime novel. Mortuary assistant Cassie is a terrific character - our guide through a fascinating, darkly humorous and sometimes grisly world. I loved it * Elly Griffiths *
Introduces us to a fabulously one-of-a-kind protagonist. Blackly humorous, we're so ready for more * HEAT Magazine *
Hooked from the first chapter and stayed up until the wee small hours to finish Body Language. What a wonderful creation is Cassie Raven! You should all go out and pre-order it right now. Excellent fun, compulsive and Cassie Raven is a protagonist I want to meet again soon. Five stars! * James Oswald *
An immersive world with a fascinating lead, this makes for a fresh and exciting new series * Claire McGowan *
What a start to a new series, full of verve and acutely perceptive on grief and human relationships. Cassie Raven is a blast of fresh air, striding onto the crime scene like a punk superstar, ready to shake things up * Sarah Hilary *
Body Language is a stellar example of the forensic-medical crime genre. Impeccably researched, with fascinating insights and a truly memorable, original heroine, this is one of the best series openers I've read in years * Jane Casey *
Move over Silent Witness - Cassie Raven is an utterly compelling contemporary forensic heroine * Isabelle Grey *
Had the pleasure of reading this little beauty by AK Turner and I loved it. It was awesome! Dark humour and gore galore - Cassie Raven is my new favourite character. The mortuary scenes were so vivid - it was like Silent Witness but much more believable * Susi Holliday *
Terrific central character of Cassie Raven...beautifully rounded and believable...a complex young woman who is nevertheless a lot of fun to spend time with. Turner also deals with the sensitive subjects of death and grief with real empathy and respect. * The Big Issue *
A cracking read. When's the next one out? * Woman's Way *
A super-fresh and quirky character on the mystery scene, working in a thoroughly authentic and unsettling way. * Weekend Sport *
Turner's experience shows in this gritty novel with an engaging heroine * Sunday Times *
A terrific, well-paced plot and the tight focus on the mortuary setting works really well to ground the action...[Turner] is adept at creating memorable characters. * The Spectator *
The writing is classy and accessible. The plot just zips along at a good pace...The characterisation is great too... it's got off to a cracking start and I can't wait for the next book in the series. * The Bookbag *
Ingenious and sardonically written...this is authoritative crime fare -- Barry Forshaw * Financial Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Holly
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Locked Room
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Sparring Partners
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Couple at the Table
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Mysterious Case of the Alperton Angels
Added to basket
The Shards
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
The Clockwork Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket

“Amazing unique plot, excellent characters, overall great!”

I loved this book, Cassie, the main character is well written and the switch between her perspective and the detective Flyte is really interesting and I could not put it down.

There is a weird human fasination many... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Mixed Feelings”

I quite enjoyed Body Language but I didn't love it but I am finding it hard to put my finger on exactly what it was I didn't engage with as well. The story is decent enough, it is written in a fairly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Far fetched but an enjoyable enough read...”

You may know A.K.Turner better as the author who writes under the pen name of Anya Lipska with her ‘Kiszka and Kershaw’ thriller series.
“Body Language” is her first crime novel under her real name and features Camden... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.