Blood of the Prodigal: An Ohio Amish Mystery - Amish Country Mysteries (Hardback)
  • Blood of the Prodigal: An Ohio Amish Mystery - Amish Country Mysteries (Hardback)
zoom

Blood of the Prodigal: An Ohio Amish Mystery - Amish Country Mysteries (Hardback)

(author)
£20.99
Hardback 235 Pages / Published: 01/06/1999
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

From the choppy waves of Lake Erie's Middle Bass Island to the too-tranquil farmlands of Holmes County's Amish countryside, mystery and foreboding lurk under layers of tradition and repression before boiling up to the surface with tragic consequences.

For Jon Mills, the journey begins with his decision to retrieve his ten-year-old son from the hands of the Bishop who had ten years earlier cast Mills out of the Order, the same Bishop who is Jon Mills's father.

When Mills turns up dead, dressed in Amish garb, and with the boy missing, Professor Michael Branden plunges headlong into the closed culture to unravel the mystery and find the boy. Working in tandem sometimes and at cross purposes at others with his old friend Sheriff Robertson, Professor Branden digs through the past, recent and otherwise, to uncover the truths that many would prefer to leave undisturbed.

In the tradition of Tony Hillerman, P. L. Gaus depicts a culture that stands outside the norm, but one that is every bit as susceptible to the undertow of the human spirit as any we might know.

Publisher: Ohio University Press
ISBN: 9780821412763
Number of pages: 235
Weight: 431 g
Dimensions: 229 x 159 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Gaus brings a refreshing authenticity to his unusual setting and characters. There are no wisecracking gumshoes here, but instead believable characters whose faith is explored with respect. Anyone who enjoyed the film Witness should take to this fine mystery debut."
"A pleasure to read."
"Gaus writes with authority and warmth about the mysterious Amish.... This well-written, insightful first novel bodes well for Gaus' planned Professor Branden series."
"The charm of Gaus's first novel lies in its gently penetrating portrait of conflicts within the deceptively quiet contemporary Amish community."
"No one who enjoys a fresh approach to the mystery novel, plus an insider's look at Ohio's Old Order Amish culture, should miss Blood of the Prodigal. P. L. Gaus gives us a kind, gentle, and intriguing look at crime inside Ohio's famous Amish colony." -- Tony Hillerman
"Gaus has done successfully what would seem nearly impossible: to meld a mystery novel with a description of Amish life in Holmes county without scanting either one.... (A)n impressive debut novel."
"P. L. Gaus's voice in his first mystery is so assured and polished, it's hard to believe this is his first book.... (T)he strength of the descriptions of the Amish ... is such that as a reader you almost resent being away from it for a moment."
"This story is written in the tradition of Tony Hillerman: Gaus presents a deeper understanding of an American subculture and why-though it interacts with mainstream American society-it stubbornly chooses to remain separate and follow its own unique doctrines. Enthusiasts of mysteries, American sub-cultures, or those interested in learning more about Amish ways will find much to glean from Gaus' work."
"In addition to the very interesting portrayal of Amish culture, I most enjoyed the characters and relationships at the heart of the book.... The small-town flavor revealed through the interplay among this cast of characters is both believable and endearing."
"The characters are full-bodied and finely wrought.... The plot is solid and well paced. And Gaus informs us about the life and practice of the Old Order Amish without instructing or lecturing."
"The Amish setting is as strange and intriguing as that of any foreign country, and the strong-willed characters challenge the reader's prejudices and values. This novel, the first in a series, opens the door for further exploration of the nature of these characters and their culture." -- Wendy Foster Leigh
"(Broken English)...was nearly impossible to put down."

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Tombland
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sentence is Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unto Us a Son Is Given
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
My Lovely Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.