Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Black Widow - Jack Parlabane (Hardback)
  • Black Widow - Jack Parlabane (Hardback)
zoom

Black Widow - Jack Parlabane (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 432 Pages / Published: 28/01/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

*Winner of the 2016 Crime Novel of the Year at Bloody Scotland*

Twists abound in the brilliant new psychological thriller from master author Chris Brookmyre - perfect for readers of The Girl on the Train, I See You and Disclaimer.

Did she do it? Did he deserve it?

Diana Jager is clever, strong and successful, a skilled surgeon and fierce campaigner via her blog about sexism. Yet it takes only hours for her life to crumble when her personal details are released on the internet as revenge for her writing.

Then she meets Peter. He's kind, generous, and knows nothing about her past: the second chance she's been waiting for.

Within six months, they are married. Within six more, Peter is dead in a road accident, a nightmare end to their fairytale romance.

But Peter's sister Lucy doesn't believe in fairytales, and tasks maverick reporter Jack Parlabane with discovering the dark truth behind the woman the media is calling Black Widow...

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408707159
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 698 g
Dimensions: 238 x 162 x 39 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A celtic Gone Girl... guaranteed to keep you guessing * Ian Rankin *
Black Widow is a stand-out thriller, reminiscent of the best of Nordic Noir but with its own vivid landscape * Renee Knight, author of Disclaimer *
Brookmyre opens with a dramatic court scene, followed by a series of clever twists that challenge the reader to work out who is the victim of an extremely sophisticated crime * Sunday Times *
Exceptionally good - a knotty mystery that's not just richly, provocatively political but one of the most perceptive excavations of a dysfunctional marriage I can remember reading.... Brookmyre plays a cunning, careful game * Guardian *
I didn't know what was going to happen next in this epic thriller. I urge you to read it, too * Sun *
It's a tour de force. It's such an important book, with fantastic characters - a really strong novel ... It keeps us guessing not just who did it, but why they did it, and cements Chris's place in the pantheon of great crime writers. * Elly Griffiths *
The story's characters are compelling and the mystery is evoked with scalpel-like precision * Daily Mail *
This is mystery plotting at its highest level, all the disparate strands forming into a web and then into a knot that tightens around victim, detective and reader * Spectator *
It's only as you're racing through the final tense pages, full of betrayal, revenge and shocking revelations, that you realise the brilliance behind the construction of this utterly compulsive, whipsmart thriller * Sunday Mirror *
A gripping, complex and classy crime novel. * Mail on Sunday YOU Magazine *
Chilling, gripping and exquisitely unpredictable * Daily Record *
Black Widow does its best to evade you at every turn, demanding your full attention * Scotland on Sunday *
Chris Brookmyre has some claim to be the leading satirical novelist currently at work in Britain * Daily Telegraph *
Enthralling and entertaining * Daily Express *
A biting satire, nuanced enough to avoid polemic * Sunday Telegraph *
A briskly paced thriller with a sense of confident contemporary relevance * The List *
Chris Brookmyre does an exceptionally good job . . . making sense of a narrative in which truth and lies are inextricably entwined. The more I read, the more I was hooked * Crime Review *

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye
Added to basket
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Panic Room
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Now We Are Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bookread2day

“Enjoyed it tremendously”

Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Black Widow deals with contemporary gender issues such as sexism on forums, public shaming, revenge porn and trolling. Diana Jager is a successful skilled surgeon. She had kept her... More

Hardback edition
3rd February 2016
Helpful? Upvote 60

“Great story, well told”

I chose Black Widow based on its strong mystery/thriller premise. I had no idea it was part of a series. Lucky for me, having not read any of the previous books didn't keep me from thoroughly enjoying this one.... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
6th February 2016
Helpful? Upvote 22
Rob

“Great writing from a great author”

This is the first book I have read by Chris Brookmyre and it most certainly will not be my last. It is a first class mystery/thriller and the writing, plotting and characterization are of the highest order.

The story... More

Hardback edition
26th December 2016
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.