Black Reed Bay - Detective Casey Wray 1 (Paperback)
  • Black Reed Bay - Detective Casey Wray 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Black Reed Bay - Detective Casey Wray 1 (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 300 Pages / Published: 02/09/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
When a young woman vanishes from an exclusive oceanfront community in the middle of the night, Detective Casey Wray's takes on a case that leads her in chilling, unexpected directions ... A twisty, breath-taking police procedural. First in a heart-pounding new series.

'Urgent, thrilling and richly imagined. Without doubt his best yet' Chris Whitaker, author of We Begin at the End

'Reynolds captures the claustrophobic feel of a small town ... a tense slice of American noir' Vaseem Khan, author of Midnight at Malabar House

'If you were hooked on Mare of Easttown, this will be right up your street ... I read this obsessively' Nina Pottell, Prima

'Rod Reynolds makes the most of this desolate, windswept location ... a thrillingly complex narrative develops at speed ... his superior cop saga is just the first instalment of a projected series' The Times
____________________

Don't trust ANYONE...


When a young woman makes a distressing middle-of-the-night call to 911, apparently running for her life in a quiet, exclusive beachside neighbourhood, miles from her home, everything suggests a domestic incident.

Except no one has seen her since, and something doesn't sit right with the officers at Hampstead County PD. With multiple suspects and witnesses throwing up startling inconsistencies, and interference from the top threatening the integrity of the investigation, lead detective Casey Wray is thrust into an increasingly puzzling case that looks like it's going to have only one ending...

And then the first body appears...

For fans of Susie Steiner, Peter Swanson, M J Arlidge, James Lee Burke and Tana French
___________________

**LONGLISTED for the CWA Steel Dagger for THRILLER of the YEAR**

'Electrifying' Crime Monthly

'An awesome read. A turn of the screw in every chapter' Oscar de Muriel

'If you love Harlen Coben and Lee Child, you will love this ... cinematic, epic, you will forget to breathe' Miranda Dickinson

'Compelling and stylish, with devious twists and a cleverly crafted ending. Very, very impressive' G J Minnett

'A twisty, high-stakes, high-voltage murder mystery' Tim Baker

'In Casey Wray he has created a series character with an engaging mix of guts and vulnerability ably supported by a strong supporting cast. His prose style is crisp with the occasional touch of the poetic that lifts noir writing out of the pulps' Shots Magazine

'Beautifully written, deeply atmospheric and cleverly plotted, with a brilliant new protagonist' Andrea Carter

'Utterly gripping and packs one hell of an emotional punch. Perfect for fans of Bosch' Steph Broadribb

'There's something particularly special about Black Reed Bay and it's Detective Casey Wray ... I felt like I'd known her all my life' Joy Kluver

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781913193676
Number of pages: 300
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Change of Circumstance
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lightseekers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Joy and Light Bus Company
Added to basket
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The 6:20 Man
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Triflers Need Not Apply
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Locked Room
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twyford Code
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Excellent first book in the series!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy.
Loved the cover so I was drawn straight into this...
Great first book in a new series, I would be very happy to get my hands on a book 2.
Good pace and tension,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A Highly Addictive Detective”

Black Reed Bay is the opening salvo in a new detective series from Rod Reynolds, and what an excellent introduction. Reynolds already an expert as a crime writer, still gives a gripping narrative throughout the book,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0
TripFiction

“Crime thriller set in LONG ISLAND”

This is the first in a series featuring Detective Casey Wray. The story is written by a British author and to my ears it has all the twang of an American noir thriller, from the location - which is really descriptive... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.