Black Drop (Hardback)
  • Black Drop (Hardback)
zoom

Black Drop (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 14/10/2021
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
'Black Drop is a joy from start to finish... Jago is a very sympathetic hero, with all his flaws, virtues and secrets' - ANDREW TAYLOR 'A thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction, led by a hugely engaging narrator' - EMMA STONEX 'A gripping, intricate story of Georgian high politics and low life' - W.C. RYAN ________________________________________ This is the confession of Laurence Jago. Clerk. Gentleman. Reluctant spy. July 1794, and the streets of London are filled with rumours of revolution. Political radical Thomas Hardy is to go on trial for treason, the war against the French is not going in Britain's favour, and negotiations with the independent American colonies are on a knife edge. Laurence Jago - clerk to the Foreign Office - is ever more reliant on the Black Drop to ease his nightmares. A highly sensitive letter has been leaked to the press, which may lead to the destruction of the British Army, and Laurence is a suspect. Then he discovers the body of a fellow clerk, supposedly a suicide. Blame for the leak is shifted to the dead man, but even as the body is taken to the anatomists, Laurence is certain both of his friend's innocence, and that he was murdered. But after years of hiding his own secrets from his powerful employers, and at a time when even the slightest hint of treason can lead to the gallows, how can Laurence find the true culprit without incriminating himself? A thrilling historical mystery, perfect for readers of C.J. Sansom, Andrew Taylor, Antonia Hodgson and Laura Shepherd-Robinson. ________________________________________ 'A sparkling evocation of a distant time which is remarkably similar to the current one. I loved it' - TREVOR WOOD 'Well written and well constructed, Jago is a character that readers will want to follow' - ALIX NATHAN 'This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp through the tangled roots of British democracy' - JANICE HALLETT 'Superb. Vivid and fast-paced, it's an impressive achievement and hugely enjoyable' - GUY MORPUSS 'An astounding debut novel, written with style and confidence' - A.J. WEST

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788165914
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Black Drop is a joy from start to finish. I particularly liked the glimpses of the grubby machinery of government from the inside, giving a real sense of the intrigues behind closed doors. Jago is a very sympathetic hero, with all his flaws, virtues and secrets, and Philpott made me want to smile and cheer -- Andrew Taylor, author of The Ashes of London
A gripping, intricate story of Georgian high politics and low life. Leonora Nattrass's historical spy novel is top notch -- W.C. Ryan, author of A House of Ghosts
A riveting political thriller, set at a fulcrum-point in global history. The setting is viscerally immersive and the characters spring to life from the page. This masterful narrative of deception, intrigue and heroism unfolds with compelling pace, wry humour and acute psychological observation. Gripping, moving and utterly engaging -- Philippa East, author of Little White Lies
A thrilling slice of pitch-dark historical fiction, led by a superbly engaging narrator. Entertaining and deftly written, this gripping tale of murder and treachery on the smouldering streets of eighteenth-century London deserves to be huge -- Emma Stonex, author of The Lamplighters
Lovers of historical thrillers have a treat in store. A splendid twisting tale of murder and espionage at the political heart of Georgian Britain -- Kate Griffin, author of Kitty Peck and the Music Hall Murders
In Black Drop Leonora Nattrass has done that most dangerous thing: allowed fictional characters to mingle with real ones. I'm far too cowardly to do that in my writing, but she has pulled it off. Well written and well constructed, and Jago is a character readers will certainly want to follow -- Alix Nathan, author of The Warlow Experiment
A sparkling evocation of a distant time which is remarkably similar to the current one. I loved it. The sights, smells and eccentricities of eighteenth-century Britain are so perfectly captured that if you'd told me this was one of Dickens' lost novels I'd have completely believed it. Other fictional worlds are going to seem a lot greyer in comparison -- Trevor Wood, author of The Man on the Street
Leonora Nattrass brings Georgian London vividly to life in a delectable dose of secrets, lies and sinister skullduggery. Take care not to swallow this tincture of intrigue in a single sitting! -- D.V. Bishop, author of City of Vengeance
This opium-fuelled gem is a murderous romp through the tangled roots of British democracy -- Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal
Nattrass writes so beautifully. Absolutely compelling, and so atmospheric I felt I was there, following Jago around the mean streets of eighteenth-century London -- Frances Quinn, author of The Smallest Man
A darkly atmospheric and utterly immersive tale. Black Drop is a thrilling, revolutionary ride through the coffee houses and committee rooms of a corrupt and fearful city. Grab your hat and pipe and keep your pistols at the ready! -- Miranda Malins, author of The Puritan Princess
Superb. Nattrass convincingly recreates eighteenth-century London as a backdrop for spies, murders, and a skilful blend of historic and imagined characters. Vivid and fast-paced, it's an impressive achievement, and hugely enjoyable -- Guy Morpuss, author of Five Minds
An astounding debut novel, written with style and confidence -- A.J. West, author of The Spirit Engineer

You may also be interested in...

Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Follow You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.