Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2): An unputdownable murder mystery - Bell Elkins (Hardback)
  • Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2): An unputdownable murder mystery - Bell Elkins (Hardback)
zoom

Bitter River (Bell Elkins, Book 2): An unputdownable murder mystery - Bell Elkins (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£19.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 03/09/2013
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Concealed beneath the water, her body wants to be found...
Bell Elkins returns in Bitter River, the gripping second instalment from Pulitzer prize winner Julia Keller. Perfect for fans of Dennis Lehane and Linwood Barclay.
'Julia Keller's lyrical and evocative prose in Bitter River propels the novel until all you can do is hang on until the final page. Her sense of place is spot-on and bittersweet' - C.J. Box
Acker's Gap, West Virginia: a high-school student - sixteen, full of promise, and pregnant - is found murdered in a car at the bottom of the Bitter River. Her death devastates the community, but one among them must be responsible. Bell Elkins, Raythune County's prosecuting attorney, is determined to bring the killer to justice.
But someone else has their own agenda. Amid the shadow of the Appalachian Mountains, another act of violence is about to strike. As Bell and Sheriff Nick Fogelsong work to uncover the truth, one thing is certain: no one can truly understand Acker's Gap until they are in the thick of it.
Bell returned to her hometown to make a difference. But just how much is she willing to risk?
What readers are saying about Julia Keller:
'Julia Keller creates brilliant characters'
'Keller's style of writing is poetic and dramatic. It is incredibly unusual. She seamlessly weaves the story-lines together'
'Five stars'

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755392902
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 626 g
Dimensions: 241 x 156 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A rare talent and a must read' * Karin Slaughter *
'A gripping, beautifully crafted murder-mystery' * Scott Turow *
'A remarkably written and remarkably tense debut. I loved it' * Dennis Lehane *
'A terrific debut - atmospheric, suspenseful, assured. I hope there's more to come in the story of Bell Elkins and Acker's Gap' * Laura Lippman *
'Be careful opening this book because once you do you won't be able to close it. A killer novel' * Tom Franklin *

You may also be interested in...

He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dark Angel
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sleeping in the Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sharp Objects
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
Do Not Disturb
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sunburn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Bookread2day

“Concealed beneath the water, her body waits to be”

Concealed beneath the water, her body waits to be found.

Sixteen-year-old pregnant Lucinda Trimble from Acker's Gap High-school is found dead in a car in the Bitter River.

Sheriff Nick Fogelsong had a... More

Paperback edition
10th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 41

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.