Birthday (Paperback)
  • Birthday (Paperback)
zoom

Birthday (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 30/05/2019
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Meredith Russo depicted the complexities of Trans life in If I Was Your Girl; now with Birthday she charts the development of an emotionally charged relationship between two best friends who are fighting to make themselves and their identities heard. Wearing its message with a light touch, Birthday is simply a beautifully constructed love story told with Russo’s customary eloquence.

Meet Eric and Morgan.

Born on the same day, at the same time, in the same place. They've always shared this one day together, but as they grow up they begin to grow apart. Everyone expects Eric to get a football scholarship, but no one knows he's having second thoughts. Former quarterback Morgan feels utterly alone, as she wrestles with the difficult choice to live as her true self.

Both of them are struggling to be the person they know they are. Who better to help than your best friend?

Told on one day every year, over six years, this is a story about how change pulls people apart... and how love brings them back together.

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474967419
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The biting sadness of Morgan's loneliness, anxiety and desperate need to assert some form of control - at one point hurling herself into apparently ideal maleness by weightlifting to add rapid muscle mass - are beautifully balanced by the friend's constant fondness, deepening gradually into love as they discover more about each other and themselves. * Times Literary Supplement *
An emotional, winning touchdown. * Kirkus Reviews *
Rarely have we seen a story like Meredith Russo's Birthday * The New York Times *
Birthday is a luminous and profoundly moving coming-of-age story of love, family, friendship, destiny, and the struggle to live as one's truest self. It will break your heart, piece it back together even stronger, and do it again and again until the last page. * Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King *
I couldn't put this book down, I fell so in love with Eric and Morgan. Birthday broke my heart and made me tear up, but it was also so triumphant. This book will save lives. * Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure *

You may also be interested in...

The Night Circus
Added to basket
Afterlove
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume One
Added to basket
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Four
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume Three
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume Two
Added to basket
We Were Liars
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Next
Added to basket
Twilight
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Maze Runner
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ace of Spades
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Utterly Beautiful”

How to describe a novel that destroys you and then puts you back together even more whole? I will try but it is difficult to do so. Meredith Russo needs to write more books because she excels every time!

Birthday is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Perfect for fans of 'If I was your girl'!”

I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this book, and I thought it was truly wonderful. While Meredith Russo's 'If I was your girl' follows a trans girl's life after she has changed her... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Just Stunning”

I was lucky enough to receive a proof copy of this book last week and absolutely devoured the entire book on one train journey.
This book is so unbelievably good. Despite being a book that centres around a trans... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.