Bird Boy (Paperback)
  • Bird Boy (Paperback)
zoom

Bird Boy (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 304 Pages
Published: 09/05/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

"Vivid and deeply empathetic, Catherine is a wonderful storyteller." Phil Earle


"A wonderfully moving story about the healing power of nature, perfect for fans of Phil Earle and Katya Balen" Anthony McGowan


"Unputdownable.A gift to nature loving young people" Hilary McKay


"A heart-felt story about the healing power of nature.Moving and powerful, I loved it" Gill Lewis

From the multi-award-winning author of No Ballet Shoes in Syria, comes a story of migration, conservation, healing and hope as a grieving boy forms an unbreakable bond with an injured bird.


After the tragic death of his mother, eleven year old Will is sent to temporarily stay with his uncle in the mountains. After years trapped in a high-rise flat, with only birds for company, Will doesn't know how he'll survive a place like this, but he soon finds solace in the woods, when he's surrounded by birdsong.


With his new friend Omar - a refugee from Afghanistan - Will discovers an osprey nest, with two small chicks inside. He forms an unbreakable bond with the birds, especially the smallest chick, who they name Whitetip. But when tragedy almost strikes again one stormy night, and Whitetip is knocked out of the nest - breaking a wing, Will is determined to save her. Smuggling her down from the mountain, he finds a way to keep her alive.


As Will helps Whitetip to grow and to heal, he finds a strength inside himself that he never knew he had. Maybe, finally, Will can find a way to take flight too...

Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
ISBN: 9781839946493
Number of pages: 304
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Brilliant World of Tom Gates
Added to basket
Cat Kid Comic Club
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days (Book 4)
Added to basket
Tom Gates 20: Happy to Help (eventually)
Added to basket
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
Dog Man 6: Brawl of the Wild PB
Added to basket
Geek Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Finding Alfie: A D-Day Story
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket

“Stunning.”

If I could, I would have given this 6 stars. So beautifully written, so readable, with characters that are 100% present. The story covers grief, friendship, and finding hope after awful loss, all alongside the... More

“A wonderful book - moving and magical - perfect class story”

From the outset Bird Boy is a moving and beautiful story.

This is the story of Will; his mum has recently dies and he's been sent to live with his Uncle Ian in the countryside- a contrast from his previous... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A book which will linger in my heart.”

When 12 year=old Will's mum dies in a accident, he is sent far away from his high-rise home in the city, to stay in a remote Lake District village with an uncle he's never met, while he waits for a permanent... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: