Bicycles Locked to Poles (Paperback)
  • Bicycles Locked to Poles (Paperback)
zoom

Bicycles Locked to Poles (Paperback)

(photographer)
£9.99
Paperback 87 Pages / Published: 17/05/2005
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken. Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides, and The Observer's Book of Steam Locomotives.
Bicycles Locked to Poles began in early 2001, when a magenta arrow - spray-painted on the sidewalk by a representative of the electrical utility -- pointed directly to the sadly bent, Dali-esque wheel of a bicycle on the photographer's street. Glassie passed by every day for months, until one day it was gone. He has been documenting bicycles locked to poles, bent, broken and otherwise, in and around his East Village neighborhood of New York ever since.
This volume presents a careful selection from Glassie's collection of over a thousand color photographs, as well as a graphical guide to present, damaged, and missing bicycle parts, and a quote from Marvin Minsky's The Society of Mind. Bicycles Locked to Poles is a rare treasury for anyone interested in bikes, poles, locks, or the forgotten artifacts of the urban landscape.

Publisher: McSweeney's Publishing
ISBN: 9781932416251
Number of pages: 87
Weight: 358 g
Dimensions: 204 x 229 x 11 mm

You may also be interested in...

Humans of New York
Added to basket
Collins Complete Photography Course
Added to basket
Ireland - English
Added to basket
Photographers A-Z
Added to basket
Street Photography Now
Added to basket
Unreasonable Behaviour
Added to basket
A History of Photography. From 1839 to the Present
Added to basket
Why It Does Not Have To Be In Focus
Added to basket
The Polaroid Book
Added to basket
Getting Your Shot
Added to basket
You Are Here
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Don McCullin
Added to basket
£50.00
Hardback
Ansel Adams' 400 Photographs
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.