Beyond the Wild River (Paperback)
  • Beyond the Wild River (Paperback)
zoom

Beyond the Wild River (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 05/10/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the author of The House Between Tides, comes an atmospheric and stunningly evocative historical novel. Perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent.

'Maine writes beautifully' THE TIMES

Scotland,1893. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre, the daughter of a wealthy landowner, has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borders. She was once close to her philanthropist father, but his silence over what really happened on the day a poacher was shot on estate land has come between them.

An invitation to accompany her father to Canada is a chance for Evelyn to escape her limited existence. But once there, on the wild and turbulent Nipigon river, she is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, Ballantyre's former stable hand, and once her friend. He disappeared the night of the murder, charged with the shooting.

Evelyn never believed that James was guilty - and her father's role in the killing has always been mysterious. What does he have to hide? In the wild landscape of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the secrets and lies surrounding that night are finally stripped away, with dramatic consequences.

*****

'Stunning' Booklist

'Riveting' Publishers Weekly

'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines' RT Reviews

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473639690
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 240 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Beyond the Wild River * : *
'Maine writes beautifully about the wilderness' * The Times *
Maine's beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense * Booklist *
Descriptive passages of lush, beautiful landscapes frame Maine's riveting portrait of a thoughtful young woman who yearns for more than is offered by her station and her gender, and the rough-and-tumble young man who is inexorably drawn to her. * Publishers Weekly *
'Maine's gift of setting the mood shines in her latest novel... Fans of Kate Morton's rich-with-atmosphere novels will feel right at home.' * RT Reviews *
Praise for The House Between Tides -- :
There is an echo of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca in Sarah Maine's appealing debut novel * Independent *
A tremendous accomplishment. So assured, so well-judged, and with such an involving story to tell, this might be the author's fifth or sixth novel, not her first. A literary star is born! -- Ronald Frame, author of The Lantern Bearers and Havisham
'...it came as a great surprise to learn that this was the author's debut novel. I predict great things for Sarah Maine.' -- The Book Bag
Scotland's Outer Hebrides provides the sensuous setting for [this] impressive debut...[a] beautifully crafted novel. * Publishers Weekly *
Maine skillfully balances a Daphne du Maurier atmosphere with a Barbara Vine-like psychological mystery...The setting emerges as the strongest personality in this compelling story, evoking passion in the characters as fierce as the storms which always lurk on the horizon. A debut historical thriller which deftly blends classic suspense with modern themes. * Kirkus Reviews *
Maine contrasts Hetty's present-day consternation with the past story of Blake and his wife, delivering details at a perfectly suspenseful pace... the historic mystery will keep readers guessing right up until the end. * Booklist *

You may also be interested in...

Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Gripping adventure set in the wilds of Canada at the end of the nineteenth century”

Combines evocative descriptions of the landscape and wildlife of Scotland and Canada with a tale of misunderstandings, murder and the search for gold. The independent heroine wants to find a way out of Victorian... More

Paperback edition
29th March 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.