We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Between Shades of Gray (Paperback)
  • Between Shades of Gray (Paperback)

Between Shades of Gray (Paperback)

11 Reviews Write your review
£7.99
Paperback Published: 18/12/2010
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
Between Shades of Gray is a haunting and powerful Second World War novel by Ruta Sepetys. That morning, my brother's life was worth a pocket watch...One night fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother and young brother are hauled from their home by Soviet guards, thrown into cattle cars and sent away. They are being deported to Siberia. An unimaginable and harrowing journey has begun. Lina doesn't know if she'll ever see her father or her friends again. But she refuses to give up hope. Lina hopes for her family. For her country. For her future. For love - first love, with the boy she barely knows but knows she does not want to lose...Will hope keep Lina alive? Set in 1941, Between Shades of Gray is an extraordinary and haunting story based on first-hand family accounts and memories from survivors. Born and raised in Michigan, Ruta Sepetys is the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee. Between Shades of Gray is her first novel and it was nominated for the prestigious Carnegie Medal. Fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Codename Verity will fall in love with this book.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141335889

You may also be interested in...

“Heart Wrenching Tale”

A tale told by Lina, 15 year old Lithuanian girl & the harrowing journey her family go through under Stalin's reign. This is a story I was never aware of, I think we're all aware of the persecution faced... More

Paperback edition
22nd August 2011
Helpful? Upvote 3

“incredible”

This book is amazing! i have always been taught about the holocaust but never about this! It is so touching and made me feel so thankful for my life. I could imagine everything which happened becasue it is so... More

Paperback edition
29th May 2011
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Excellent book!”

This is certainly one of those unputdownable books. I found it really hard to stop reading whenever I needed to just to find out what happens on the next page…and then the next….and the next…

It’s about such a... More

Paperback edition
26th April 2011
Helpful? Upvote 3

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot