We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Between Shades of Gray (Paperback)
  • Between Shades of Gray (Paperback)

Between Shades of Gray (Paperback)

£7.99
Paperback Published: 18/12/2010
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
Between Shades of Gray is a haunting and powerful Second World War novel by Ruta Sepetys. That morning, my brother's life was worth a pocket watch...One night fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother and young brother are hauled from their home by Soviet guards, thrown into cattle cars and sent away. They are being deported to Siberia. An unimaginable and harrowing journey has begun. Lina doesn't know if she'll ever see her father or her friends again. But she refuses to give up hope. Lina hopes for her family. For her country. For her future. For love - first love, with the boy she barely knows but knows she does not want to lose...Will hope keep Lina alive? Set in 1941, Between Shades of Gray is an extraordinary and haunting story based on first-hand family accounts and memories from survivors. Born and raised in Michigan, Ruta Sepetys is the daughter of a Lithuanian refugee. Ruta lives with her family in Tennessee. Between Shades of Gray is her first novel and it was nominated for the prestigious Carnegie Medal. Fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Codename Verity will fall in love with this book.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780141335889

You may also be interested in...

“By Annie, age 13”

This book is about a girl called Lina who is taken away, with her mother and brother, by the NKVD. She doesn't know much about what is going on, but she gradually learns about politics and survival on the... More

Paperback edition
31st January 2011
Helpful? Upvote 3

“By Tallulah, age 13”

'Between Shades of Grey' has an incredibly sad plot and a storyline which is heartbreaking. The characters are well written and you see them grow around Lina while she stays in the same place. You see some... More

Paperback edition
11th February 2011
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Excellent book!”

This is certainly one of those unputdownable books. I found it really hard to stop reading whenever I needed to just to find out what happens on the next page…and then the next….and the next…

It’s about such a... More

Paperback edition
26th April 2011
Helpful? Upvote 3

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot