Benny and Penny How to Say Goodbye (Hardback)
  • Benny and Penny How to Say Goodbye (Hardback)
zoom

Benny and Penny How to Say Goodbye (Hardback)

(illustrator)
£9.99
Hardback 32 Pages / Published: 29/09/2016
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Why won't Benny help? Penny found a dead salamander, but her brother Benny is refusing to help her bury it. Is it silly to hold a service for Little Sallie, or could this tiny salamander mean something more to the siblings? Geisel Award-winner Geoffrey Hayes shares this gentle tale of a child's early encounter with death.

Bestselling author Geoffrey Hayes has written and illustrated over forty children's books, including the extremely popular series of early readers Otto and Uncle Tooth, the classic Bear by Himself, the Patrick Bear books, and When the Wind Blew by Caldecott Medal-winning author Margaret Wise Brown. His TOON Book series of Benny and Penny books has garnered multiple awards. In 2009, Benny and Penny in the Big No-No! received the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award given by the American Library Association for "the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English."

Publisher: Raw Junior LLC
ISBN: 9781935179993
Number of pages: 32
Weight: 204 g
Dimensions: 231 x 155 x 10 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Death is an odd subject for a comic for young children, but Hayes handles it well. For newly independent readers, this is an alternative tonot a replacement forBrown's classic. Another sweet, empathetic day with Benny and Penny. - "Kirkus Reviews""

Death is an odd subject for a comic for young children, but Hayes handles it well. For newly independent readers, this is an alternative tonot a replacement forBrown's classic. Another sweet, empathetic day with Benny and Penny. - Kirkus Reviews"
Death is an odd subject for a comic for young children, but Hayes handles it well. For newly independent readers, this is an alternative tonot a replacement forBrown's classic. Another sweet, empathetic day with Benny and Penny. - Kirkus Reviews
"With humor, directness, and unfailing honesty, Hayes s sensitive cartooning and sharp dialogue play up the big emotions of these little mice." - Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW
"Hayes grasp of children s inner lives is deep and lovely, granting them not only the complexity to experience resounding sorrow and guilt, but also the toolswith a little help and understandingto overcome these difficult feelings...An exemplary installment in an already successful series." - Booklist STARRED REVIEW
"A simple narrative make this ideal for budding young readers. VERDICT: A wonderful and sensitively handled offering; purchase where the series is popular or where titles on death are needed." - School Library Journal STARRED REVIEW
"It s never easy to deal with loss and saying goodbye to a loved one. In gentle, honest, and slightly humorous fashion, this graphic novel filled with softly colored pencil illustrations tackles those tough topics." - Literacy Daily
"A sensitive look at dealing with strong feelings in the wake of loss. An important addition to graphic novel collections and readers advisory lists." - Mom Read It
"Following in the tradition of Sesame Street and Mr. Rogers, Hayes does not shy away from dealing with direct facts or feelings, things that often become overlooked when talking with children about death." - Musing Librarian Reviews
"
"With humor, directness, and unfailing honesty, Hayes's sensitive cartooning and sharp dialogue play up the big emotions of these little mice." - Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

"Hayes' grasp of children's inner lives is deep and lovely, granting them not only the complexity to experience resounding sorrow and guilt, but also the tools--with a little help and understanding--to overcome these difficult feelings...An exemplary installment in an already successful series." - Booklist STARRED REVIEW

"A simple narrative make this ideal for budding young readers. VERDICT: A wonderful and sensitively handled offering; purchase where the series is popular or where titles on death are needed." - School Library Journal STARRED REVIEW

"Death is an odd subject for a comic for young children, but Hayes handles it well. For newly independent readers, this is an alternative to--not a replacement for--Brown's classic. Another sweet, empathetic day with Benny and Penny." - Kirkus Reviews

"In only 20-some pages, Hayes manages to move his characters realistically through denial, disgust, resistance, friendship, problem-solving, and navigating the ceremonies of mourning." - Comics Worth Reading

"It's never easy to deal with loss and saying goodbye to a loved one. In gentle, honest, and slightly humorous fashion, this graphic novel filled with softly colored pencil illustrations tackles those tough topics." - Literacy Daily

"A sensitive look at dealing with strong feelings in the wake of loss. An important addition to graphic novel collections and readers advisory lists." - Mom Read It

"Following in the tradition of Sesame Street and Mr. Rogers, Hayes does not shy away from dealing with direct facts or feelings, things that often become overlooked when talking with children about death." - Musing Librarian Reviews

You may also be interested in...

The King in Yellow
Added to basket
Through the Woods
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Adventure Time: Volume 3
Added to basket
The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us
Added to basket
Lumberjanes Vol. 1
Added to basket
Infinity Gauntlet
Added to basket
£20.99
Paperback
Drama
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Scott Pilgrim vs The World
Added to basket
Saga Volume 3
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Soul Eater, Vol. 1
Added to basket
A Scanner Darkly
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Death Note: L, Change the World
Added to basket
The Walking Dead Volume 3: Safety Behind Bars
Added to basket
Death Note: Another Note (Novel)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Sandman Vol. 1 Preludes & Nocturnes (New Edition)
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.