Belinda - Nonsuch Classics (Paperback)
  • Belinda - Nonsuch Classics (Paperback)
zoom

Belinda - Nonsuch Classics (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 01/03/2008
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Fanny Burney's "Evelina" and Elizabeth Inchbald's "A Simple Story", but with perhaps more serious intent, Maria Edgeworth's "Belinda" is a coming-of-age tale about a naive young girl thrust into the sophisticated world of late eighteenth-century London. Guided by Lady Delacour, the eponyous heroine must navigate her way through the maze that leads to love and marriage. Interwoven with this narrative is a sub-plot that exposes the hypocrisy of the fashionable world, as Belinda discovers Lady Delacour is estranged from both her husband and her daughter, and believes herself to be suffering from cancer, although she is unable to confide in anyone. A complex story of many strands, it is an extremely significant novel both in terms of the development of narrative fiction and the portrayal of women.

Publisher: The History Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781845886264
Number of pages: 544
Dimensions: 164 x 124 mm

You may also be interested in...

Jane Eyre
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Vanity Fair
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Vanity Fair
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Christmas Carol
Added to basket
The Illustrated Dracula
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Alone in Berlin (Slipcase Edition)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Rebecca
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Frankenstein
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Grapes of Wrath
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Christmas Carol
Added to basket
The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
Added to basket
Great Expectations
Added to basket
Wide Sargasso Sea
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde
Added to basket
The Secret Garden
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Manners and Morality”

This is the first novel by Edgeworth that I have read, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. She was an incredibly popular writer during her lifetime, but these days she is much less well known than one of her biggest fans,... More

Paperback edition
6th January 2012
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.