Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) (Paperback)
  • Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) (Paperback)
zoom

Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) (Paperback)

(author), (cover design/artwork)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/02/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

From multi-award-winning Irish author Celine Kiernan comes a fantasy adventure about witches and forbidden magic. "Ireland's answer to JK Rowling." Sunday Independent A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. On the night that Aunty dies the Raggedy Witches come for Mup's mam. Pale, cold, relentless, they will do anything to coax Mam back to Witches' Borough, a suppressed magical realm. When they kidnap Mup's dad, Mup and her mam must leave the mundane world to rescue him. But Mam is strange on this side of the border - striding, powerful, and distant. Even if they can save Dad, Mup is not sure anything will ever be the same again...

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406378849
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[...] expect rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic in Kiernan's first middle-grade fantasy adventure. Beautiful cover * The Bookseller *
"a spellbinding novel [...] full of enchantment, adventure, humour, friendship, and bravery. It celebrates difference and originality, and is populated with brilliantly unique and vivid characters [...] a classic hero in the making." * Parent Talk *
"Well-written, this is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying story. Firmly in the tradition of classic tales of magic such as Narnia, and with hints of Tolkien and Susan Cooper too, readers would also enjoy Peter F. Hamilton's The Queen of Dreams series." * Andrea Reece LoveReading4Kids, February 2018 Book of the Month *
The reader will be hooked from the very first sentence. Being the first book in the trilogy, there is a lot of information about the characters and the witches' world to introduce to the reader but the story moves on quickly with some terrifying battle sequences and revelations. * School Zone *
"This is seriously creepy stuff from the Irish Queen of Young Adult fantasy. However, the promise of a happy ending should persuade a younger demographic to conquer any fear, and if they do they will be rewarded with a journey into a magical realm that is not so distant from reality, where a young girl has the power to take on a tyrannical queen." * Irish Times *

You may also be interested in...

Amari and the Night Brothers
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We Hunt the Flame
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
Added to basket
Coraline
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Kingdom of the Wicked
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Added to basket
Iron Widow
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Monsters of Rookhaven
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Kingdom of the Cursed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Stephen B at Darlington

“Lost in the Borough”

This is going to be a hard one to beat as my favourite book of the year, and it's not even officially released yet! It has the feel of a classic childrens book, with the evil queen and the hero's quest and... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Brilliant new series”

In this first instalment of the series we get to know Mup and her family who get drawn into a magical world to save individuality and joy. It is a brilliant story about family, different agendas and standing up... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 18
Whispering Stories

“This is a book that features magic in its raw form”

Mup’s Dad has been taken to Witches Borough, a place which is ruled by her Grandmother who isn’t very nice. Her Mam, Stella, was raised by her Aunty and kept away from Witches Borough but now that her Aunty has died... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.