• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) (Paperback)
  • Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) (Paperback)
zoom

Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) (Paperback)

(author), (cover design/artwork)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/02/2018
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
From multi-award-winning Irish author Celine Kiernan comes a dark fantasy adventure about witches "Ireland's answer to JK Rowling." Sunday Independent A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. On the night that Aunty dies the Raggedy Witches come for Mup's mam. Pale, cold, relentless, they will do anything to coax Mam back to Witches Borough. When they kidnap Mup's dad, Mup and her mam must leave the mundane world to rescue him. But Mam is strange on this side of the border - striding, powerful, and distant. Even if they can save Dad, Mup is not sure anything will ever be the same again...

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406366020
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 279 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[...] expect rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic in Kiernan's first middle-grade fantasy adventure. Beautiful cover * The Bookseller *
"a spellbinding novel [...] full of enchantment, adventure, humour, friendship, and bravery. It celebrates difference and originality, and is populated with brilliantly unique and vivid characters [...] a classic hero in the making." * Parent Talk *
"Well-written, this is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying story. Firmly in the tradition of classic tales of magic such as Narnia, and with hints of Tolkien and Susan Cooper too, readers would also enjoy Peter F. Hamilton's The Queen of Dreams series." * Andrea Reece LoveReading4Kids, February 2018 Book of the Month *
The reader will be hooked from the very first sentence. Being the first book in the trilogy, there is a lot of information about the characters and the witches' world to introduce to the reader but the story moves on quickly with some terrifying battle sequences and revelations. * School Zone *
"This is seriously creepy stuff from the Irish Queen of Young Adult fantasy. However, the promise of a happy ending should persuade a younger demographic to conquer any fear, and if they do they will be rewarded with a journey into a magical realm that is not so distant from reality, where a young girl has the power to take on a tyrannical queen." * Irish Times *
This is a magical, wild and adventurous tale. Celine Kiernan has a gift for powerful atmosphere and pitch-perfectdialogue. A cracking adventure story. * Children's Books Ireland *
Author Article * Children's Books Ireland *
"I really enjoyed Begone the Raggedy Witches, in particular the rhymes that the animals had to speak in." * Toppsta *
"Read by Toby age 10. Toby made a YouTube video for his review https://youtu.be/gtkulGyFOrE He loved the book. We had actual tears when we couldn't find books 2 and 3 today in WHSmith!" * Toppsta *
"It's not often I read a fantasy book but I really enjoyed this one and will be reading the next two in the trilogy. It's a bit dark and scary in places but I think it adds to the story and makes you want to read on." * Toppsta *
"It was gorgeously magical, beautifully written and unique, with deep, resonant questions about power and family and responsibility, and three generations of fierce, fascinating women all off on a fantasy adventure together." * Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Smoke Thieves
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The House with Chicken Legs
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Kid Normal
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Wizards of Once
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
A Court of Frost and Starlight
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo Book 3)
Added to basket
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Eve of Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Children of Blood and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dark Prophecy (The Trials of Apollo Book 2)
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket

Reviews

View all
Stephen B at Darlington

“Lost in the Borough”

This is going to be a hard one to beat as my favourite book of the year, and it's not even officially released yet! It has the feel of a classic childrens book, with the evil queen and the hero's quest and... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
22nd January 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Brilliant new series”

In this first instalment of the series we get to know Mup and her family who get drawn into a magical world to save individuality and joy. It is a brilliant story about family, different agendas and standing up... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.