Click & Collect
from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas
delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders over £25 Order in time for Christmas 16th December by 3pm 2nd Class |
19th December by 3pm 1st Class
Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours after you order*
Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) - The Wild Magic Trilogy (Paperback)
  • Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) - The Wild Magic Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

Begone the Raggedy Witches (The Wild Magic Trilogy, Book One) - The Wild Magic Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 01/02/2018
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From multi-award-winning Irish author Celine Kiernan comes a dark fantasy adventure about witches

"Ireland's answer to JK Rowling." Sunday Independent

A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge, Katherine Rundell and Sally Gardner. On the night that Aunty dies the Raggedy Witches come for Mup's mam. Pale, cold, relentless, they will do anything to coax Mam back to Witches Borough. When they kidnap Mup's dad, Mup and her mam must leave the mundane world to rescue him. But Mam is strange on this side of the border - striding, powerful, and distant. Even if they can save Dad, Mup is not sure anything will ever be the same again...

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406366020
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 279 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[...] expect rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic in Kiernan's first middle-grade fantasy adventure. Beautiful cover * The Bookseller *
"a spellbinding novel [...] full of enchantment, adventure, humour, friendship, and bravery. It celebrates difference and originality, and is populated with brilliantly unique and vivid characters [...] a classic hero in the making." * Parent Talk *
"Well-written, this is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying story. Firmly in the tradition of classic tales of magic such as Narnia, and with hints of Tolkien and Susan Cooper too, readers would also enjoy Peter F. Hamilton's The Queen of Dreams series." * Andrea Reece LoveReading4Kids, February 2018 Book of the Month *
The reader will be hooked from the very first sentence. Being the first book in the trilogy, there is a lot of information about the characters and the witches' world to introduce to the reader but the story moves on quickly with some terrifying battle sequences and revelations. * School Zone *

"This is seriously creepy stuff from the Irish Queen of Young Adult fantasy. However, the promise of a happy ending should persuade a younger demographic to conquer any fear, and if they do they will
be rewarded with a journey into a magical realm that is not so distant from reality, where a young girl has the power to take on a tyrannical queen."

* Irish Times *
This is a magical, wild and adventurous tale. Celine Kiernan has a gift for powerful atmosphere and pitch-perfectdialogue. A cracking adventure story. * Children's Books Ireland *
Author Article * Children's Books Ireland *

"I really enjoyed Begone the Raggedy Witches, in particular the rhymes that the animals had to speak in."

* Toppsta *

"Read by Toby age 10. Toby made a YouTube video for his review https://youtu.be/gtkulGyFOrE He loved the book. We had actual tears when we couldn't find books 2 and 3 today in WHSmith!"

* Toppsta *
"It's not often I read a fantasy book but I really enjoyed this one and will be reading the next two in the trilogy. It's a bit dark and scary in places but I think it adds to the story and makes you want to read on." * Toppsta *
"It was gorgeously magical, beautifully written and unique, with deep, resonant questions about power and family and responsibility, and three generations of fierce, fascinating women all off on a fantasy adventure together." * Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart *
"The prose holds a potent spookiness that will enchant readers beyond the last page." * Irish Examiner *
"Kiernan's writing swells with colour, magic and passion." * The Irish Independent *
"I cannot possibly praise Raggedy Witches enough. Combining magic, adventure and a real family story, it is a rare and wondrous book; one that I will read again and again. Please just read it." * Fallen Star Stories *

You may also be interested in...

The Heartstopper Yearbook
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
What the Ladybird Heard at Christmas
Added to basket
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
The Christmasaurus
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Beano Annual 2023
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
The Baddies
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Cat Kid Comic Club Collaborations
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
The Polar Express
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
We're Going on a Sleigh Ride
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bluey: Christmas Eve with Verandah Santa
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Night Before Christmas
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Mixed media product
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Peter Rabbit The Christmas Present Hunt
Added to basket
Spaceboy
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Overlode
Added to basket
Paddington's Christmas Post
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Stephen B at Darlington

“Lost in the Borough”

This is going to be a hard one to beat as my favourite book of the year, and it's not even officially released yet! It has the feel of a classic childrens book, with the evil queen and the hero's quest and... More

“Brilliant new series”

In this first instalment of the series we get to know Mup and her family who get drawn into a magical world to save individuality and joy. It is a brilliant story about family, different agendas and standing up... More

Whispering Stories

“This is a book that features magic in its raw form”

Mup’s Dad has been taken to Witches Borough, a place which is ruled by her Grandmother who isn’t very nice. Her Mam, Stella, was raised by her Aunty and kept away from Witches Borough but now that her Aunty has died... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.