Ts&Cs apply
Begars Abbey (Hardback)
  • Begars Abbey (Hardback)
zoom

Begars Abbey (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 28/04/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A gloriously gothic yarn perfect for all fans of Laura Purcell and Elizabeth Macneal, Valentine's dark tale of a crumbling Yorkshire residence and the chilling secrets it holds is one-sitting reading at its finest.

A dark house filled with darker secrets...

Winter 1954, and in a dilapidated apartment in Brooklyn, Sam Cooper realises that she has nothing left. Her mother is dead, she has no prospects, and she cannot afford the rent. But as she goes through her mother's things, Sam finds a stack of hidden letters that reveal a family and an inheritance that she never knew she had, three thousand miles away in Yorkshire.

Begars Abbey is a crumbling pile, inhabited only by Lady Cooper, Sam's ailing grandmother, and a handful of servants. Sam cannot understand why her mother kept its very existence a secret, but her newly discovered diaries offer a glimpse of a young girl growing increasingly terrified. As is Sam herself.

Built on the foundations of an old convent, Begars moves and sings with the biting wind. Her grandmother cannot speak, and a shadowy woman moves along the corridors at night. There are dark places in the hidden tunnels beneath Begars. And they will not give up their secrets easily...

A chilling read that will keep you turning the pages late into the night, Begars Abbey is a must-read for fans of Laura Purcell and W.C. Ryan.

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781788164566
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 445 g
Dimensions: 222 x 142 x 34 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

Atmospheric and fast-moving, it's a page-turner that keeps you guessing - Choice

Wonderful... High gothic with a captivating protagonist. Loved it - Rhiannon Ward, author of THE QUICKENING

Takes its reader to a sinister place and locks them in, all alone. A dark, gothic delight best enjoyed by the light of a single, flickering candle - Janice Hallett, author of THE TWYFORD CODE

Fans of the gothic thriller are in for a treat - Crime Fiction Lover

An inventive, lavish, twisty ghost story that will keep you guessing and turning the pages until the very end. Atmospheric and hugely enjoyable - Alison Littlewood, author of MISTLETOE

An atmospheric, spine-tingling page-turner packed with curious characters and sinister twists - Jennifer Ryan, author of THE CHILBURY LADIES' CHOIR

A shiver-down-the-spine jaunt into the gruesome past, with a deliciously creepy finale - C.E. Rose, author of THE HOUSE OF HIDDEN SECRETS

As a gothic novel Begars Abbey has it all: remote and storm-bound Yorkshire, ruined abbey buildings, hidden diaries and keys, locked doors and long corridors, even a wicked old woman in a wheelchair... But Vikki Valentine provides the reader with something more, through her appealing, nail-biting heroine, Sam - Alix Nathan, author of THE WARLOW EXPERIMENT

Pure enjoyment! Searching for her Yorkshire roots, spirited New Yorker Sam Cooper is pulled into a Gothic mystery rooted in medieval horrors. Witty, fast-moving and spine-chillingly dark, this is a gripping and rewarding read - Rose Black, author of THE UNFORGETTING

The 1950s setting of Begars Abbey by VL Valentine cleverly evokes the black and white movies of the period, building to a gripping Gothic climax - Leonora Nattrass, author of BLACK DROP

No-one does the creeps like V.L. Valentine... Darkly, fiendishly, irresistibly good - Kate Simants, author of A RUINED GIRL

A knowing spin on the English country house ghost story, it's a romp told with sly affection for the genre & great gothic gusto - Kate Griffin, author of KITTY PECK AND THE MUSIC HALL MURDERS

You may also be interested in...

The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Kamogawa Food Detectives
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Death in the Parish
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Death of a Bookseller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Stop Them Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Everyone Here is Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Gothic horror, mystery, ghosts and secrets...”

Sam is a young woman pretty much alone in Brooklyn, without money or family, having recently lost her offbeat mother to cancer. Going through their scant apartment before she's evicted, Sam discovers a collection... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“A pleasant Gothic Tale”

The whole narrative of "Begars Abbey" is about Sam, a young american girl, born and raised in Brooklyn and recently orphaned at the death of Vera, her mother. It is 1953. Vera, who cut a stark and eccentric... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“Gothic, chilling, addictive.”

Winter, 1954. In a dilapidated, empty shell of an apartment in Brooklyn, Sam Cooper mourns more than the loss of her mother as it has become rather apparent that short of a miracle, she shall surely find herself out... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: