Ts&Cs
apply
Before the Crown (Paperback)
  • Before the Crown (Paperback)
zoom

Before the Crown (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 10/12/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Before the crown there was a love story...

'If you're a fan of The Crown, you'll love this' Woman's Weekly

'Fascinating...a beautiful love story' Woman

Windsor Castle, 1943

As war rages across the world, Princess Elizabeth comes face to face with the dashing naval officer she first met in London nine years before.

One of the youngest first lieutenants in the Royal Navy, Philip represents everything she has always been taught to avoid. Instability. Audacity. Adventure.

But when the king learns of their relationship, the suitability of the foreign prince is questioned by all at court.

He is the risk she has never been allowed to take. The risk not even the shadow of the crown will stop her from taking...

Step through the palace gates and discover a captivating historical novel of royal secrets and forbidden love exploring the tempestuous courtship between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip in the wake of WWII.

Readers are LOVING Before the Crown:

'Magnificent. It carries so much depth and warmness, and closeness to the characters that you do not want to part from them...a page-turner' Best Historical Fiction Reviews

'To say that I adored this book is an absolute understatement. Beautifully written, well crafted and researched. A must read for fans of The Crown' Kim

'Any fans of The Crown will adore this read...the story is well researched and written so beautifully I didn't want it to end' Lucy

'What a pleasure it was to read this charming and heartfelt historical romance... never have I felt so romantically moved' Jena

'Magnificent... It carries so much depth and warmness, and closeness to the characters that you do not want to part from them' Annette

'I really enjoyed this book... Anyone who loved The Crown series will love this book!' Pat

'Perfect for fans of Netflix's The Crown' Elizabeth

'This is the story that we ALL want to read...I loved every single page' Vicki

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008387549
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A wonderfully poignant love story involving characters whose lives we all think we know about' Celia Anderson, bestselling author of 59 Memory Lane

'I loved this story... it felt like a sneak peek into the Queen's life' Glynis Peters, USA Today-bestselling author of The Secret Orphan

You may also be interested in...

The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
The Viscount Who Loved Me
Added to basket
The Winter Rose
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Empire
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Marvellous Light
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The House of Fortune
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Last Night at the Telegraph Club
Added to basket
The Ballroom Blitz
Added to basket
The Wolf Den
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Four Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Fair Botanists
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Circus of Wonders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Storm Tide
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Woman Made of Snow
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Before the crown”

This is a fascinating account of the long and awkward courtship of Elizabeth and Philip. Theirs doesn't come across as a romance for the ages, so much as two people finding companionship for life. I felt sorry... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“Courtship of Princess Elizabeth & Prince Philip”

Before the Crown by Flora Harding allows readers to get a behind the scenes look at the courtship between Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip. I found the book easy to read, but I did feel it had slow pacing and it... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Historical Fiction”

This historical fiction novel tells us about the courtship between Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip. We learn of the complications they faced once they had announced their intention to marry. The story takes place... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.