Becoming Liz Taylor (Hardback)
  • Becoming Liz Taylor (Hardback)
zoom

Becoming Liz Taylor (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 03/08/2023
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'An accomplished and memorable debut full of heart and heartbreak - an absolute corker for reading groups!' Ruth Hogan, bestselling author of The Keeper of Lost Things

Val, a widow living in Weston-super-Mare, spends lonely evenings dressing up as the movie star Elizabeth Taylor. It seems to be a way of coping with the loss and sadness she has experienced in her life. One day, when Val sees a pram left unattended on the seafront, on a whim she kicks off the brake and walks away with it...

Set in the present and the 1970s, BECOMING LIZ TAYLOR is a vivid and touching depiction of love, loss and bereavement - thought-provoking, moving fiction for fans of Rachel Joyce, Emma Healey and Ruth Hogan.

****Shortlisted for the debut novel prize at the 'Festival du Premier Roman' in Chambéry.***

Publisher: Atlantic Books
ISBN: 9781838958053
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 505 g
Dimensions: 223 x 145 x 32 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS

Becoming Liz Taylor is a truly compelling read and tackles the subject of loss and grief with brutal honesty and poignant sensitivity. It's such an accomplished and memorable debut full of heart and heartbreak - an absolute corker for reading groups! - Ruth Hogan, Ruth Hogan, bestselling author of THE KEEPER OF LOST THINGS

You may also be interested in...

Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“I adored this accomplished and multi-faceted debut”

The incredibly eye-catching cover and title were the first things that attracted me to Becoming Liz Taylor by Elizabeth Delo, but once I read the blurb as well I was 100% sold on this book.

Val leads a lonely life in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Karen Byrom

“A story to make you laugh and cry”

This is a super story, beautifully told, and delivered far more than I expected.
Elderly widow Val has never got over the loss of her baby son Duncan and the subsequent death of her husband. Instead she’s found solace... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Though provoking and powerful”

Val is a lonely widow in her seventies, who deals with her grief by dressing up as Liz Taylor. One day after a trip to the hairdressers, she spots a baby left alone in a pram by a ferris wheel. Believing the child to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: