Beautiful Broken Girls (Paperback)
  • Beautiful Broken Girls (Paperback)
zoom

Beautiful Broken Girls (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 01/04/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
After two teenage sisters, Mira and Francesca, drown themselves in a neighbourhood quarry, their next-door neighbour Ben receives post-mortem letters from Mira. This letter challenges Ben to track down the hidden, cryptic notes hidden in seven places alluding to where the two secretly touched. As Ben uncovers each note, he starts to unravel the hidden lies and secrets that these girls kept, and just how complicated their bonds with the outside world were.

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250144164
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 209 x 139 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Beautiful Broken Girls

"After two sisters commit suicide, the boy next door traces the notes one left behind for him. . . . Told through both Ben's and the girls' perspectives, the mystery unfolds with aching precision--both Ben's grief and the sisters' pain can be acutely traced as they grow. Even though the truth can be seen before it's revealed, the girls' secrets pack a gut punch that lingers. Haunting and mesmerizing." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Savage's second novel is more character-driven than plot-driven. These figures are compellingly damaged, and the suspense is ever present. Savage's skillful writing makes the characters' pain deep and tangible, offering readers the full impact of the deaths on the town." --Booklist

"Familial ties, friendship, and community trust are all intriguing themes, but the book's central story line is its strength as Ben moves through the stages of disbelief and grief. Teen readers will find sympathy for each character introduced and be moved by the profound sadness of the sisters' short lives. . . . A haunting tale that reads like a young adult version of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides." --School Library Journal

"This disturbing and emotional ride will appeal to readers of Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why and Beth Revis' A World Without You, as the mental health, romantic obsession and codependency of two sisters are explored within this compelling drama." --Romantic Times Book Review

You may also be interested in...

Tom Gates: Spectacular School Trip (Really.)
Added to basket
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
What Monster? (Tom Gates #15) (PB)
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
I, Cosmo
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Frostheart
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Mermaid
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Funnybones
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Dog Man 7: For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
The Taylor TurboChaser
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.